Here’s Every Vegan Option at &pizza (2021)

There are different “tiers” of vegan-friendly pizza chains. At the most basic level, you can only get cheese-less pizza. At the mid-level places, you can get vegan cheese. And at the top tier places, you can get vegan cheese and vegan meat! Luckily, &pizza fits into that top tier.

Vegan options at &pizza:

  • Traditional Dough
  • Gluten Free Dough (Costs Extra)
  • Classic Tomato Sauce
  • Spicy Tomato Sauce
  • Vegan Mozzarella
  • Vegan Sausage
  • Veggie Toppings
  • Vegan Finishes
  • Beverages

Below, I’ll share the full lists of Veggie Toppings and vegan Finishes, along with 3 menu items that are surprisingly NOT vegan. I’ll answer common questions about the vegan cheese and vegan sausage. And I’ll end with a look at the whole-food plant-based options!

&pizza Vegan Menu

The following vegan menu was compiled with the help of the full menu and ingredients lists on the &pizza website.

Restaurant menus change and often vary by location. I recommend double checking any important information with staff at your location!

Build Your Own Pizza

None of the “Hits,” “Heavy Hitters,” or other pre-made pizzas at &pizza seem to come vegan anymore. They used to have a vegan pizza called “Red Vine,” but I don’t see it anymore.

You could custom-order one of the “Hit” pizzas to make it vegan, if you like, but I find it easier just to build your own pizza from scratch.

Here are the options you have to work with…

Crust Options:

  • Traditional Dough
  • Gluten Free Dough (Costs Extra)

Sauce Options:

  • Classic Tomato Sauce
  • Spicy Tomato Sauce

Vegan Cheese:

  • Vegan Mozzarella

Veggie Toppings:

  • Broccoli
  • Fresno Pepper
  • Grape Tomato
  • Grilled Onion
  • Jalapeno
  • Mushroom
  • Pineapple
  • Roasted Red Pepper
  • Spicy Chickpeas
  • Spinach

Protein Toppings:

  • Vegan Sausage

Vegan Finishes:

  • Arugula
  • Banana Pepper
  • Basil
  • Black Pepper
  • Buffalo Sauce
  • Fig Balsamic
  • Garlic Puree
  • Kalamata Olives
  • Olive Oil
  • Pickled Red Onion
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • The Blend
  • BBQ Sauce (Not in NYC)

Beverages

There are plenty of vegan drinks, including multiple options for bubbly water:

  • LaCroix
  • Topo Chico Mineral Water
  • &Still Spring Water
  • &Tea
  • &Lemonade
  • &Soda

But What About…

You might think some of the following items would be vegan, too—but unfortunately they’re not:

  • The Hot Knots contain cheese.
  • The Garlic Knots contain cheese
  • The Basil Pesto contains cheese.

Now let’s answer some common questions about eating vegan at &pizza.

[Related post: “Vegan Pesto Brands: Full List (90 Products Analyzed)“]

What Kind of Vegan Cheese Does &pizza Use?

The &pizza chain uses Daiya Mozzarella shreds for their vegan cheese. This is a popular choice, probably the most common vegan cheese you’ll find at other pizza chains, too.

Daiya is free of many other allergens, too, besides dairy. Here are the ingredients, if you need to check for something specific:

Daiya Mozzarella Ingredients: Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Coconut Oil, Non-GMO Expeller Pressed Canola And/Or Safflower Oil, Potato Protein Isolate, Vegan Natural Flavors, Sea Salt, Tricalcium Phosphate, Lactic Acid (Vegan), Whole Algal Flour, Konjac Gum, Xanthan Gum, Yeast Extract.

Is &pizza Vegan Cheese Good?

&pizza uses Daiya vegan mozzarella cheese, which is I personally believe is the best vegan pizza cheese currently on the market. The only downside is that it’s quite common, being used at most other vegan-friendly pizza places, too. So it’s nothing new.

Most non-vegans will prefer real cheese to Daiya vegan cheese. It’s not a perfect substitute. However, if you’re trying to be vegan or dairy-free for any reason, Daiya is one of the best cheese replacement options, and I highly recommend trying it.

[Related post: “Is Daiya Cheese Healthy?“]

What Are the Ingredients of &pizza Vegan Sausage?

Here are the ingredients for the vegan sausage:

&pizza Vegan Sausage Ingredients: Water, Pea Protein Isolate, Expeller-Pressed Canola Oil, Beef Type Flavor (Yeast Extract, Maltodextrin, Natural Flavoring, Salt, Sunflower Oil, Onion Powder), Sausage Type Flavor (Yeast Extract, Salt, Tapioca Maltodextrin, Sunflower Oil, Natural Flavoring, Mixed Triglycerides), Garlic Powder, Ground Fennel Seed, Calcium Sulfate, Paprika, Potassium Bicarbonate, Black Pepper, Caramel Color, Red Chili Pepper Flakes.

As you can see, it’s definitely a processed food, as are most “mock meats.” It’s mainly made of pea protein isolate and canola oil.

Is &pizza Crust Vegan?

Both the Traditional and the Gluten-Free crust at &pizza are confirmed vegan. They contain no dairy, egg, or other animal ingredients.

Here are the ingredients for the Traditional Dough:

&pizza Traditional Dough Ingredients: “Flour, Water, Yeast, Virgin Olive Oil, Canola Oil, Kosher Salt, Sugar.”

Here are the more complicated (but still vegan) ingredients for the gluten-free option:

&pizza Gluten Free Dough Ingredients: “Water, Tapioca Starch, Sorghum Flour, Modified Tapioca Starch, Potato Starch, Pure Olive Oil, Sugar, Yeast (Yeast, Sorbitan Monostearate), Agave Nectar, Salt-Non Iodized, Xanthan Gum, Guar Gum, Baking Powder (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Corn Starch (Made From Non-Genetically Modified Corn And Monocalcium Phosphate), Sodium Bicarbonate, Non-GMO Canola Oil (Expeller Pressed From Non-Genetically Modified Seed).”

What Is &pizza Special T Sauce?

&pizza’s Special T Sauce is a creamy sauce made from Taleggio cheese and used as a finisher. Special T Sauce is not vegan or vegetarian.

Does &Pizza Have Cauliflower Crust?

&pizza does not currently have cauliflower crust. They do have a “Gluten Free Dough” option made primarily of tapioca starch and sorghum flour, however.

Whole-Food Plant-Based Options

What if you’re not just vegan but also trying to avoid processed foods? Can you get a whole-food plant-based (WFPB) meal at &pizza? That means no processed sugar, oil, or flour.

There are no substantial WFPB options at &pizza. Both the pizza dough options contain processed flour and oil. There is no salad option. The only WFPB ingredients would be the veggie toppings. It’d be really strange to order those alone, and it wouldn’t be a full meal.

More Vegan Guides to Pizza Chains

If you’re looking for which pizza place has the best vegan options, you may want to look at MOD Pizza, Pie Five, Blaze Pizza, and Mellow Mushroom. They all have vegan cheese.

However, I’ve found there to also be decent options at Papa John’s (breadsticks!) and Marco’s Pizza (cinnamon dessert and smoothies).

I’ve also made vegan guides for:

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.

Sharing is caring!