Here’s Every Vegan Option at Good Times (2021)

Good Times is pretty vegan-friendly for a burger place. They have two different ways to order a vegan black bean burger, and three kinds of fries! Heck, even their “Cookie Dough” dessert topping is vegan, if you want to make some kind of custom order with that.

Vegan options at Good Times:

  • Southwestern Black Bean Burger
  • Veg Head Black Bean Burger (No Mayo)
  • Natural Cut Fries
  • Wild Fries (No Dippin’ Sauce)
  • Sweet Potato Waffle Fries
  • Wild Spuds (Breakfast)
  • Apple Sauce
  • Veggie Toppings and Sauces
  • Dessert Toppings and Cones
  • Beverages

Below, I’ll share more details for each of these. I’ll also share some other menu items that are surprisingly NOT vegan. I’ll answer a common question about the Good Times cooking oil, and I’ll end with a look at the whole-food plant-based options!

Good Times Vegan Menu

The following vegan menu was compiled with the help of the nutrition and allergen information on the Good Times Burgers website. Luckily, they share full ingredients lists on their website.

This means that with my 13 years of vegan label-reading experience, I can report the following options with a high degree of confidence.

That said, restaurant menus change and often vary by location. I recommend double checking any important information with staff at your location!

1. Black Bean Burger

Both the “Southwestern” and “Veg Head” version of the Black Bean Burger can easily be ordered vegan:

  • Southwestern Black Bean Burger: This comes with a Dr. Praeger’s Black Bean patty, spicy guacamole, onion, iceberg lettuce, and tomato. It should come vegan as is.
  • Veg Head Black Bean Burger (No Mayo): If you don’t want spicy guac, this version comes with the same patty but a different mix of toppings: iceberg lettuce, tomato, pickle, onion, mustard, and ketchup. It also comes standard with mayo, so you have to request “No Mayo” to make it vegan.

A quick note about buns: The allergen menu listed both of these black bean burgers as dairy-free. However, you may want to double check about the bun with staff at your location. There was one bun listed in the Good Times allergen menu that contains milk.

Here are the full ingredients for the black bean burger patty itself, if it interests you:

Black Bean Burger Patty Ingredients: Hydrated Textured Soy Protein Concentrate (Water, Soy Protein Concentrate, Caramel Color), Cooked Black Beans (Black Beans, Water), Cooked Brown Rice (Brown Rice, Water), Onions, Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Corn, Wheat Gluten, Red Peppers, Arrowroot Powder, Jalapeno Peppers, Chili Powder, Vegan Natural Beef Flavvor (Yeast Extract, Meltodextrin, Salt, Natural Flavoring), Flaxseed Meal, Garlic, Salt, Cilantro, Black Pepper. Contains: Soy, Wheat.

2. Fries

You’ve got a few different options for vegan fries at Good Times. These are all fried in vegetable oil (primarily soybean oil), not any kind of animal fat:

  • Natural Cut Fries – These are waffle fries. No crazy seasoning, just a classic salty fry.
  • Wild Fries – These fries are coated with a breading that has a “top-secret blend of spices.” However, I read the ingredients, and I can confirm these are vegan—nothing sketchy going on.
  • Sweet Potato Waffle Fries – Here you’ve got another version of the waffle fries, this time with sweet potato rather than white.

Note: Don’t use the “Dippin’ Sauce,” as it contains milk and egg. Also, the Green Chile Fries are not vegan or even vegetarian, as the Green Chile contains milk, chicken, and lard. And as always with fries, keep in mind the possibility of shared fryers with animal ingredients.

3. Wild Spuds (Breakfast)

Another delicious fried potato product, this time on the breakfast menu. These are little potato cubes, with a “wild spice” breading—totally vegan.

4. Apple Sauce

This is just a simple little side of unsweetened apple sauce. Maybe it can fill the void if you want something sweet without custom ordering a bunch of vegan dessert toppings (below)

5. Veggie Toppings and Sauces

These toppings and sauces are available to add to your fries, black bean burger, or other savory dishes:

  • BBQ Sauce
  • Buffalo (Pepper) Sauce
  • Chili
  • Green Chile Peppers (but NOT the “Green Chile”)
  • Guacamole
  • Habanero Powder
  • Jalapeno
  • Ketchup
  • Lettuce
  • Mustard
  • Peanuts
  • Pickles (Sliced)
  • Raspberry Jam
  • Tomato

Note: The Green Chile contains milk, chicken, and lard. The Refried Beans contain lard. The Dippin’ Sauce contains milk and egg. The Balsamic Vinaigrette contains milk.

6. Dessert Toppings and Cones

Unfortunately, Good Times does not have any vegan ice cream, frozen custard, or equivalent. However, two of the cones are vegan—and a bunch of the syrups and toppings are vegan, too.

In fact, I was surprised to see… the Cookie Dough is vegan!

So, if you want to custom order some kind of vegan dessert with any of the following ingredients, they should all be on hand:

  • Banana Syrup
  • Cake Cone
  • Candy Cane Flavor
  • Cherry Syrup
  • Cookie Dough
  • Marshmallow Cream (doesn’t have gelatin)
  • Orangesicle
  • Oregon Blackberry Flavor
  • Oreo Cookies
  • Peanut Butter Topping
  • Peanuts
  • Pecans
  • Pumpkin Puree
  • Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • Raspberry Sauce
  • Salted Caramel Syrup
  • Simple Syrup
  • Strawberries in Juice
  • Strawberry Syrup
  • Waffle Cone

Note: Surprisingly, the Vanilla contains milk.

7. Beverages

There are lots of vegan drink options:

  • Apple Juice
  • Diet Pepsi
  • Diet Dr Pepper
  • Dr Pepper
  • Iced Tea
  • Lemonade
  • Strawberry Lemonade
  • Lemon Glacier Mix
  • Mountain Dew
  • Orange Juice
  • Pepsi
  • Root Beer
  • Sierra Mist

But What About…

You might think some of the following items would be vegan, too—but unfortunately they’re not:

  • The Fried Pickles contain egg and milk in the breading.
  • The Onion Rings contain milk.
  • The Onion Straws contain milk.
  • The Green Chile and related options (Green Chile Potato Poppers, Green Chile Fries) all contain milk, chicken, and lard.
  • The Balsamic Vinaigrette contains parmesan cheese.
  • The Dippin’ Sauce contains milk and egg.

Now let’s answer another common question that pertains to eating vegan at Good Times.

What Cooking Oil Does Good Times Use?

Good Times Burgers uses a cooking oil primarily made from soybean oil. Here are the specific ingredients according to the nutritional info on their website:

Standard Oil Ingredients: “Liquid And Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, TBHQ & Citric Acid Added To Protect Flavor, Dimethylpolysiloxane, an Anti Foaming Agent Added. Contains: Soy.”

Whole-Food Plant-Based Options

What if you’re not just vegan but also trying to avoid processed foods? Can you get a whole-food plant-based (WFPB) meal at Good Times? That means no processed sugar, oil, or flour.

The Apple Sauce is unsweetened, so most people would count that as WFPB, even though it’d still be quite sugary to eat in large amounts.

The online menu did not include any salad option, so I couldn’t document any here, but you may want to check for this when you get to the restaurant. I wouldn’t be surprised if they’re offering a salad at most locations.

More Vegan Guides to Burger Restaurants

I’ve made vegan guides to nearly 100 restaurant chains. Check out the vegan options at some of these other burger places:

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.