Here’s Every Vegan Option at BurgerFi

BurgerFi is an interesting place for vegetarians and vegans. They actually have multiple “veggie burger” options. But be careful if you’re vegan like me—one of the veggie burgers contains cheese in the patty!

Vegan options at BurgerFi:

  • Vegan Beyond Burger
  • Fries
  • Toppings and Extras
  • Beverages

Below, I’ll share the details on how to order these items vegan. I’ll also cover a few items that are surprisingly NOT vegan, and I’ll answer common questions about the multiple veggie burgers, BurgerFi sauce, and the cooking oil they use at BurgerFi.

BurgerFi Vegan Menu

This vegan menu was compiled with the help of the normal menu, allergen menu, and nutritional information on the BurgerFi website.

Restaurant menus change and often vary by location. I recommend double checking any important information with staff at your local BurgerFi!

1. Vegan Beyond Burger

Convenient for us vegans, BurgerFi offers a clearly labeled “Vegan” version of their Beyond Burger! This means you don’t have to customize your order at all.

When you get the “Vegan Beyond Burger,” it already comes with a vegan bun, no cheese, and no egg-containing sauces. That said, if you do want to customize your order, there are some choices.

Vegan bun options:

  • Multigrain Bun
  • Green Style (Lettuce Wrap)

Note: The normal “Hamburger Bun” contains milk and egg, while the Gluten Free Bun contains egg.

Burger Toppings:

  • Lettuce
  • Tomato Slices
  • Pickles
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Diced Onions
  • Grilled Diced Onions
  • Sauerkraut
  • Grilled Mushrooms
  • Dijon Mustard
  • Ketchup
  • Hot Sauce
  • BBQ Sauce

Note: The “Hashbrown” and “Fried Avocado” toppings apparently contain egg, according to BurgerFi’s allergen menu. I don’t know why that would be the case, but that’s what it says. (source)

2. Fries

Yes, the classic fast-food menu item for vegans: French fries! BurgerFi cooks their fries in vegetable oil, not animal fat—more on that below—so all is good here.

Out of the fry toppings available, I can only confirm that the Cajun Seasoning is vegan.

Note: It’s likely that the fries at BurgerFi are cooked in shared fryers with the fried chicken, non-vegan onion rings, and other foods. So if you’re picky about this kind of cross-contact, be sure to ask the staff at your location about it.

3. Toppings and Extras

The following toppings are typically used as toppings for custard. Unfortunately, BurgerFi does not offer vegan custard. However, you could potentially just get a few of these toppings in a bowl, if you don’t mind the staff judging you for it.

  • Hot Fudge
  • Caramel Sauce
  • Chocolate Syrup
  • Vanilla Syrup
  • Bananas
  • Cherries
  • Strawberries
  • Colored Sprinkles

Note: The “OREO Cookies” topping is listed as containing milk and eggs. This is strange because OREOs are typically vegan. But it may not just be normal OREOs. I’d ask if you really need to know.

4. Beverages

Plenty of vegan soft drinks to choose from, including the following:

But What About…

You might assume that some of the following items would be vegan, as well—but unfortunately, they’re not:

  • The VegeFi Burger contains dairy and egg ingredients.
  • The Onion Rings contain milk.
  • The BurgerFi Sauce contains milk and egg.

Now let’s answer some common questions about eating vegan at BurgerFi…

Does BurgerFi Have Vegan Cheese?

BurgerFi does not have vegan cheese. Their Vegan Beyond Burger comes without cheese. If you see any cheese on a BurgerFi Burger, it’s real dairy cheese.

Are BurgerFi Buns Vegan?

The normal Hamburger Buns and Hot Dog Buns at BurgerFi are not vegan, as they contain milk and dairy. Similarly, the Gluten Free Buns contain egg. However, the Multigrain Buns at BurgerFi are 100% vegan.

Remember that you also have the option of ordering any burger “Green Style,” which is an iceberg lettuce wrap. This is also a vegan option, of course!

What Is in the Veggie Burger at BurgerFi?

The VegeFi Burger contains quinoa and cheese, and it is fried in peanut oil, according to the BurgerFi website. The Allergen Menu also states that it contains egg, wheat/gluten, and possible sesame seeds.

The standard toppings for the VegeFi Burger are white cheddar cheese, tomato, lettuce, and BurgerFi Sauce (which contains egg). If you want a fully vegan burger at BurgerFi, be sure to order the “Vegan Beyond Burger”—not the VegeFi Burger.

Is the BurgerFi Veggie Burger Healthy?

I’d say that the VegeFi Burger is slightly healthier than a normal hamburger, but not by much. It is lower in calories and saturated fat than most BurgerFi burger options, but actually it is still higher than the Single BurgerFi Burger in both of those categories.

The VegeFi veggie burger does contain more fiber than any of the BurgerFi burgers made of real meat, at 6 grams of fiber. So this arguably makes it healthier. Still, it’s not that healthy. It’s processed, with over 1,000 mg of sodium, and it contains cheese, which is high in saturated fat. (source: nutritional info available to download here)

Does BurgerFi Have the Impossible Burger?

BurgerFi does not have the Impossible Burger, but they have the Beyond Burger. These plant-based burgers are similar in that they both realistically mimic the taste, texture, and color of meat.

However, the ingredients are quite different between the Impossible Burger and Beyond Burger. The Impossible Burger contains mainly soy protein, while the Beyond Burger uses primarily pea protein, for example.

Which Cooking Oil Does BurgerFi Use?

I found conflicting claims on the BurgerFi website about which cooking oils they use. On the Menu page, it says they use a highly refined peanut oil. In their Allergen Menu document, it says they use high oleic canola oil for all their fries, onion rings, and other fried products.

In either case, we know that BurgerFi cooks its fries and other fried foods with plant-based oils, not lard or animal fat. So from a vegan perspective, BurgerFi is in the clear.

What Are the BurgerFi Vegan Beyond Burger Ingredients?

The BurgerFi Vegan Beyond Burger contains the following components: Beyond Meat, mustard, ketchup, lettuce, tomatoes, onions, pickles, and multigrain bun. It is 100% plant-based and vegan.

If you’d like to dig deeper into the ingredients of the Beyond Burger patty itself, here’s the ingredients to that component:

Beyond Burger Ingredients: “Water, Pea Protein, Expeller-Pressed Canola Oil, Refined Coconut Oil, Rice Protein, Natural Flavors, Cocoa Butter, Mung Bean Protein, Methylcellulose, Potato Starch, Apple Extract, Pomegranate Extract, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Vinegar, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Sunflower Lecithin, Beet Juice Extract (for color).” (source)

Is BurgerFi Sauce Vegan?

BurgerFi Sauce is not vegan, as it contains egg. This is according to the allergen menu on the BurgerFi website.

Whole-Food Plant-Based Options

Okay, so what if you’re not only vegan but you’re also trying to avoid all processed foods? Can you get a whole-food plant-based (WFPB) meal at BurgerFi?

Not really.

Unfortunately, BurgerFi doesn’t seem to offer any salads. So the only way you could eat WFPB is to only have vegetables and fruits from toppings lists. Like you’d just have to ask for lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, jalapeno peppers, diced onions, sauerkraut, bananas, cherries, or strawberries…

It would be a very strange order to place, because these fruits and veggies are not even typically sold separately—they’re just used as toppings on the burgers or custard dishes. And so it would not really be a proper meal.

So yeah, if you want to fill up on WFPB food, BurgerFi is not really the place!

Two More Recommendations for Your Plant-Based Journey

1. This is the best free video training I’ve found on plant-based nutrition. You’ll learn how to reduce your risk of cancer, heart disease, type 2 diabetes, Alzheimer’s, and obesity—all with plant-based food. Watch the free “Food for Health Masterclass” here.

2. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in my 14 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).