Here’s Every Vegan Option at Checkers / Rally’s (2021)

If you’re vegan and you’re planning to go to Checkers or Rally’s, I just want to start by apologizing on the restaurant’s behalf. Checkers/Rally’s is literally the single least vegan-friendly chain restaurant I have ever reviewed, after writing over 75 guides!

Vegan options at Checkers / Rally’s:

  • Slushies (Fruit Punch, Watermelon, Blue Raspberry)
  • Beverages (Coca-Cola Products)
  • Sauces and Toppings

Below, I’ll explain why there are so few vegan options at Checkers. I’ll list the specific sauces that appear to be vegan. And I’ll answer some common questions about whether Checkers has a veggie burger, whether their fries or apple pie are vegan, and more!

Checkers / Rally’s Vegan Menu

The following vegan menu was compiled with the help of the normal menu and allergen menu on the Checkers website. I also consulted some other posts by vegan bloggers.

Just to be clear: Rally’s and Checkers are the same restaurant chain since 1999. This means anything in this post should apply to both Checkers and Rally’s locations.

Restaurant menus change and often vary by location. I recommend double checking any important information with staff at your local Checkers or Rally’s!

1. Slushies

The Fanta Slushies at Checkers or Rally’s are vegan. There are three flavors typically available:

  • Fruit Punch
  • Watermelon
  • Blue Raspberry

Note: The “Big Surf Slushies” are not vegan, as they contain milk ingredients. So be sure to get the Fanta Slushies, not the Big Surf ones.

2. Beverages

You can also get the typical vegan soft drinks at Checkers. Mainly it’s Coca-Cola products. Here’s a summary based on the information I found on their website:

  • Dasani Bottled Water
  • Barq’s Root Beer
  • Cherry Coca-Cola
  • Coca-Cola
  • Diet Coke
  • Fanta (Grape, Orange, Strawberry)
  • Gold Peak Tea
  • Hi-C (Fruit Punch, Orange)
  • Mello Yello
  • Minute Maid Lemonade
  • Pibb Xtra
  • Powderade Mountain Berry Blast
  • Sprite

3. Sauces and Toppings

Lastly, I’ll note a few extras that are vegan. But there’s not really any vegan dish to use these sauces and toppings on… So, they probably won’t sound that appealing on their own!

  • Grilled Onions
  • Strawberry Sundae Topping
  • Angry Buffalo Sauce
  • Sweet & Smoky BBQ Sauce
  • Medium Buffalo Sauce
  • Lemon Pepper Seasoning
  • BBQ Sauce Dipper
  • Frank’s® Buffalo Hot Sauce Dipper

It’s possible they might have some additional options at your location. I’d expect that some other veggie toppings like lettuce and tomato might be used but just aren’t listed in the allergen menu. Same goes for the hamburger bun or other small extras that aren’t sold directly on the menu.

Remember not to feel awkward or embarrassed to ask about the details of their vegan options. Employees should know this information or be willing to help you find it, as it’s important for lots of customers who have allergies and other dietary requirements.

But What About…

Let’s answer a few common questions about eating vegan at Rally’s or Checkers.

Are Checkers Fries Vegan?

The Fries at Checkers or Rally’s are not vegan. First of all, they contain milk ingredients, as is clearly indicated in the allergen menu.

In addition, I’ve seen a report back from a previous Checkers employee that all their fried foods are cooked used animal fat (lard). So that would also make Checkers fries non-vegan and, depending on your definition, non-vegetarian, too.

I’ve also seen some old blog posts, including from PETA, that refer to Rally’s fries containing egg. However, that is no longer the case, according to Rally’s allergen menu. Checkers fries appear to be egg-free but not dairy free currently. (source)

Is Checkers Apple Pie Vegan?

Checkers Apple Pie is not vegan, as it contains animal fat. This is visible in the nutritional info document published by Checkers, as it lists the Apple Pie as containing a small amount of cholesterol.

Remember that vegan food does not contain dietary cholesterol. Dietary cholesterol only comes from animal products. A vegan diet is naturally free of all dietary cholesterol. Yo

Does Checkers Have a Veggie Burger?

Checkers does not have a veggie burger. They don’t have the Impossible Burger, the Beyond Burger, a garden burger, a black bean burger, or any other attempt at a veggie burger.

Does Checkers Have Vegan Ice Cream?

Checkers does not have vegan or dairy-free ice cream. If you see ice cream at Checkers/Rally’s, it is real dairy ice cream.

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.

Sharing is caring!