What Are the Vegan Options at Wienerschnitzel? (2020)

Wienerschnitzel is a restaurant with a pretty cool name, but not many vegan options at all. It’s actually one of the least vegan-friendly restaurants I’ve ever researched.

Most meat-based chain restaurants at least offer some vegan french fries, hash browns, or a salad. But I struggled to confirm whether the Fries and Hash Brown Po’Taters at Wienerschnitzel are even vegan.

Read below for more information, but in summary: This is not really the place you want to go as a vegan.

Wienerschnitzel Vegan Menu

The following vegan menu was created using the allergen menu on the Wienerschnitzel website. I also sent an email to try to clarify what Wienerschnitzel uses to fry their potato products.

Given that restaurant menus frequently change and vary by location, I recommend double-checking any of the following information at your Wienerschnitzel location.

Sides

So, the only 2 food items at Wienerschnitzel that I would consider “confirmed vegan” are the Pretzel Bun and the Standard Bun. And obviously, neither of those are exciting. Who’s going to order a bun without anything to put in it?

Now, it’s possible that the Fries and Hash Brown Po’Taters are also vegan—but there are rumors online that Wienerschnitzel still cooks with animal fat, and that would make even these fried potato products non-vegan.

I sent an email to Wienerschnitzel trying to confirm what they use to cook their Fries and Hash Brown Po’Taters, but I haven’t heard back yet. I’ll update this post if I do.

For now, I would just recommending asking the staff at your Wienerschnitzel location what the fries are cooked in.

Beverages

At least there are plenty of vegan beverages to sip on:

  • Pepsi
  • Diet Pepsi
  • Mountain Dew
  • Sierra Mist
  • Mug Root Beer
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Iced Tea
  • Coffee
  • Orange Juice
  • Lemonade
  • Strawberry Lemonade
  • Pineapple Lemonade
  • Strawberry Pineapple Lemonade
  • Cucumber Lemonade
  • Wildberry Lemonade
  • Watermelon Lemonade

But What About…

The following options might look vegan at first, but unfortunately, they’re not:

  • The Jalapeno Poppers contain milk (even if you get them without ranch dressing).
  • The Fritos Pie contains milk.
  • The French Toast Sticks contain eggs and milk.
  • The Cones contain milk.

Whole-Food Plant-Based Options

Usually with my vegan guides to restaurants, I like to include a section on the whole-food plant-based (WFPB) options, for those who are not only avoiding animal products but also avoiding processed oil, sugar, and flour.

Unfortunately, there are really no WFPB options at Wienerschnitzel.

That may sound obvious, but there are actually some decent WFPB options at other fast-food chains, such as the baked potatoes at Wendy’s or steamed broccoli, salads, and fruit sides at many other chains.

So yes, Wienerschnitzel is worse than your average fast-food place for vegans.

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.

Sharing is caring!