Here’s Every Vegan Option at Jersey Mike’s

Jersey Mike’s is a popular sub shop with over 1,500 locations in the U.S. As with other sub shops, it’s easy enough to order a vegan sub and vegan sides if you know what you’re doing. So here’s what to look for.

Vegan options at Jersey Mike’s:

  • Veggie Sub (without cheese)
  • Build your own sub with white, wheat, or Italian bread
  • Chips
  • Tossed salad
  • Soft drinks
  • Vegetarian Vegetable soup (only at some locations)
  • French fries (only at some locations)

One of the major vegan tips for Jersey Mike’s is that you can add avocado to your subs for free! Another note for strict vegans is that the wheat bread does contain a tiny amount of honey (it’s the last ingredient).

Keep reading for more on how to build your vegan order (like more detail on these breads). I’ll also share how I’d order at Jersey Mike’s on a whole-food plant-based (WFPB) diet, which is more strict about avoiding processed foods!

Jersey Mike’s Vegan Menu

Photo: Ser Amantio di Nicolao. Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license

Without further ado, let’s get into the Jersey Mike’s vegan menu!

1. Veggie Sub (Without Cheese)

Jersey Mike’s offers a vegetarian cold sub called the Veggie Sub. To make it vegan, you just have to ask them to make it without cheese.

Here are the ingredients of the Veggie Sub, with the cheeses crossed out at the top to make it vegan:

  • Provolone
  • Swiss
  • White bread
  • Onions
  • Lettuce
  • Tomatoes
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Olive oil blend
  • Oregano
  • Salt
  • Green bell pepper

You can also ask them to replace the cheese with avocado. In my experience, they’ll happily do so free of charge. This is pretty legit because avocado costs extra at a lot of places.

2. Build Your Own Sub

If the Veggie Sub isn’t very close to what you want, you can also just build your own vegan sub from the ground up with the following options.

Vegan bread options:

  • White bread
  • Seeded Italian bread
  • Wheat bread (contains honey as the very last ingredient)

The rosemary parmesan bread is clearly not vegan—it contains milk. The gluten-free bread is clearly not vegan—it contains egg. (source)

Other vegan wrap options they may have in place of bread:

  • Flour wrap
  • Spinach wrap
  • Tomato wrap
  • “Tub” option: You just get the sub contents in a container.

Veggies, condiments, and sauces to add to your vegan sub:

  • Avocado
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Lettuce
  • Green bell pepper
  • Dill pickle
  • Banana peppers
  • Jalapeño Peppers
  • Cherry pepper relish
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Olive oil blend
  • Mustard
  • Oregano
  • Salt

Some locations may have additional vegan sauces and condiments like Teriyaki sauce, Buffalo sauce, and sauerkraut.

Note that the main sources of actual calories here would be the bread, avocado, and olive oil. So if you’re trying to fill up for a while, I would maybe ask for extra avocado.

3. Chips

Like most sub shops, Jersey Mike’s has a few different kinds of chips available. Usually, these will be Lays chips, Baked Lays, Sun Chips, Fritos, and other popular brands.

Most of these are vegan. I wrote a post about Baked Lays specifically—the original flavor is vegan, but the BBQ is not. (That said, the Classic BBQ Lay’s are vegan. Again, more info in that other post.)

4. Tossed Salad

Most Jersey Mike’s locations offer a tossed salad that is vegan. The standard ingredients are lettuce, tomato, cucumber, and green bell pepper.

This is more of a side salad, not super filling, but it’s good to have some healthy options for getting your veggies in.

That said, I also get a sense that different locations offer different salads, so just be mindful of the ingredients and ask what’s in them.

Some locations may have more Southwestern salads that include some rice or corn. Those might be a bit more filling if they’re available.

5. Soft Drinks

Photo: Ser Amantio di Nicolao. Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license

Here’s a typical selection of drinks at Jersey Mike’s, all of which are vegan to my knowledge:

  • Fountain drink (Pepsi products)
  • Gatorade
  • Sobe
  • AMP Energy Drink
  • Pure Leaf Tea
  • Lifewtr
  • Juice

I do have separate posts on vegan energy drinks, vegan sports drinks, and a few vegan sodas if you want more reassurance on that front.

6. Vegetarian Vegetable Soup?

I found references some places online to Jersey Mike’s Vegetarian Vegetable Soup. It appears to be vegan. However, I don’t see it listed on their website anymore, so it may not be available.

Check at your local Jersey Mike’s to see if they still have this option!

7. French Fries?

Some locations of Jersey Mike’s supposedly have french fries—but it doesn’t seem common. That said, they’re listed in the nutrition facts on the company’s website, so I wanted to include them here.

If the Jersey Mike’s location you’re going to does have fries on the menu, then those are another vegan option for you.

Whole-Food Plant-Based Options

If you’re trying to eat a healthy whole-food plant-based diet—not just vegan—then what options do you have at Jersey Mike’s?

You’d probably want to build your own sub. Start with the wheat bread (may not be 100% whole-food, but it’s closer than the white bread). Load it up with avocado and veggies. Avoid the olive oil blend and any sauces that probably have sugar (like the teriyaki sauce and mustard).

Get a tossed salad on the side—no chips. And for the drink, you’d probably want to just go for water (or Lifewtr, or club soda from the fountain machine).

More Allergen Info for Jersey Mike’s

If you need to look up more allergen info and nutritional facts for Jersey Mike’s check out this section of their website. It’s where I sourced most of the information for this post.

Two More Recommendations for Your Plant-Based Journey

1. This is the best free video training I’ve found on plant-based nutrition. You’ll learn how to reduce your risk of cancer, heart disease, type 2 diabetes, Alzheimer’s, and obesity—all with plant-based food. Watch the free “Food for Health Masterclass” here.

2. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in my 14 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).