Is Gum Vegan? The Ultimate Guide to Vegan Chewing Gum

Did you ever hear that gum is made from horse hooves? Well, it’s not true. But as a vegan, it certainly raises the question: Wait… what is gum made of? Is gum vegan?

Gum is usually vegan, but not always. The main animal ingredients to avoid in gum are gelatin, beeswax, confectioner’s glaze, and carmine. In addition, there are seven other “gray area” ingredients that the most strict vegans choose to avoid in gum.

Below, I’ll lay out every non-vegan ingredient you might want to avoid in gum—including the controversial “gray area” ingredients. Then I’ll break down all the most popular gum brands, checking whether each is vegan or not!

4 Non-Vegan Ingredients in Gum

These four ingredients are known to come from animals. Luckily, they are only rarely included in chewing gum. Some of them may be used only in small quantities—but whenever you see these ingredients, you know that the gum is not strictly vegan.

1. Gelatin

Gelatin is one of the most common animal ingredients outside of meat, dairy, and eggs that vegans avoid. It’s in a ton of stuff, like Pop-Tarts, Jello, and even some musical instruments!

Gelatin is made from boiling animal skins, bones, and joints—stuff like that. Kinda nasty. And in the end, gelatin has a sort of gummy texture.

So, does gum contain gelatin? Most gum does not contain gelatin. But a few brands do.

Gelatin is not one of the ingredients legally allowed in “gum base” by the FDA. But it will still show up occasionally. For example: Ice Breakers Ice Cubes and certain flavors of Tic Tac Gum contain gelatin.

2. Beeswax

Honestly, I don’t understand why beeswax would be in gum. Maybe it’s just a coating for the outside of the piece of gum. But in any case, some gum brands do include beeswax—like Glee Gum and Spry Gum.

Not all vegans worry about beeswax and honey, though. It’s really unknown whether bees feel pain or what their level of consciousness is. And some people think it’s ridiculous to care about things like “insect rights.”

Still, I think more vegans than not would try to avoid gum that contains beeswax.

3. Confectioner’s Glaze

This is an ingredient used to coat things like pills and candy. And it’s used on the outside of some gum, as well. It contains shellac, which is made from lac beetle excretions.

Again, not all vegans worry about insect-related ingredients—but if you do, then be aware of confectioner’s glaze, also known as resinous glaze or shellac. It’s made by bugs!

Three brands containing this ingredient are Double Bubble, Glee Gum, and Project 7 gum.

4. Carmine

Carmine is another insect product—but it’s maybe even grosser than beeswax or confectioner’s glaze. That’s because carmine is actually made from crushed up dead beetles.

Carmine is a natural red dye. And the beetles have a really powerful red pigment to them. They’re called cochineal beetles, so sometimes carmine is also called cochineal.

Chupa Chups Bubble Gum is one gum brand that uses carmine for its pink/red coloring.

7 Additional “Gray Area” Ingredients in Gum

The following ingredients are more of a “gray area” for vegans. They’re debated among vegans. Some vegans would try to avoid them—other vegans are fine with eating them.

1. Gum Base

Most gums include an ingredient just called “gum base.” What is gum base made of? Well, we don’t know from reading the package. There’s a whole big list of ingredients that can legally be included in gum base.

Many times, gum base may be vegan. But it can potentially include animal products such as:

  • Lanolin – Derived from sheep’s wool.
  • Stearic acid – Potentially derived from animal fat (more info below).
  • Glycerol esters – Potentially derived from animal fat (more info below).

Due to these possibilities, some vegans may avoid all “gum base” unless they can contact the company and get reassurance that the gum base is specifically vegan. But personally I don’t worry about it.

2. Sugar

Bone char from cattle is sometimes used to filter sugar to make it whiter. And some vegans try to avoid refined sugar where this is likely to be the case.

The challenge with avoiding this “bone char sugar” is that it’s not labeled as such on the product. So—how do you know if the sugar in your gum was filtered with bone char?

  1. If the sugar is organic, it was not filtered with bone char.
  2. If the sugar is from beets or coconuts, it was not filtered with bone char.
  3. It’s possible that non-organic cane sugar, confectioner’s sugar, and brown sugar are filtered with bone char—but it usually won’t say on the label. So you’d have to ask the company.

3. Glycerol / Glycerin

Glycerol can be made from soybean oil, petroleum, or animal fat—and again, we don’t know the source by reading the ingredients. Sometimes, it will say “vegetable glycerine,” but usually, the source is not specified.

The Vegetarian Resource Group has labeled glycerol as “Typically Vegan,” so I feel comfortable just going ahead and consuming it. But some vegans would try to contact the company and figure it out (or just avoid these ingredients).

Note: “Glycerol ester” ingredients are derived from glycerol and can have the same range of sources.

4. Stearic Acid

Stearic acid can be derived from soybean oil or from animals (source). And we don’t know which one by reading the ingredients list. Even if you contact the gum company, often times they won’t be able to tell you the source of their stearic acid.

So personally, I’m okay with just eating it (or in this case, chewing it). Some other strict vegans choose to avoid it, however.

Note: Magnesium stearate and sodium stearate are the same essential ingredient as stearic acid, with the same potential sources—they’re just ionic salt versions.

5. Natural Flavors

“Natural flavors” is a sort of catch-all term that can be used to describe many different things used as natural sources of flavor in a good product. This means it can be animal-based or plant-based.

So, should you avoid “natural flavors”? Should you contact the company and ask about the source of the natural flavors? Again, this is an issue that vegans disagree about.

In practice, most vegans (including myself) are okay with eating “natural flavors.” Especially in the case of chewing gum, where the flavor is probably from fruit. But do what you believe in!

6. Artificial Colors

Artificial colors like Red 40 and Yellow 5 are not made from animals—they are synthesized from petroleum. However, some vegans avoid these dyes. Why? They’re still being tested on animals, due to ongoing safety concerns.

Some of these animal tests are pretty heartbreaking. As I wrote about in my post on Blue 1, they fed blue dye to beagle dogs to see how long it would take to kill them.

But despite the sadness of these tests, it’s not clear that boycotting artificial colors will actual help stop them. I explain more in my posts on Red 40 and the other artificial food dyes.

The takeaway: I personally don’t boycott artificial colors, but some vegans do.

7. Sucralose

Sucralose is the main artificial sweetener used in Splenda. And when it comes to veganism, it’s a similar case to artificial colors—animal testing is the main issue.

We know that sucralose is not made from animals… but it has a big history of being tested on animals. This could probably be said of many ingredients, including aspartame and others included in gum.

But it’s said that over 12,000 animals died while testing sucralose. It’s kind of a historic case study in how awful animal testing can be. So, some vegans may still avoid it for that reason. Personally, I don’t worry about it, though.

For more about sucralose, read my separate post on “Is Sucralose Vegan?

Which Gum Brands Are Vegan?

Alright, let’s dive into some specific gum brands and check whether they’re vegan or not! In many cases, we won’t know with certainty whether it’s 100% vegan… but I’ll help point out what to look for, anyway!

5 Gum

[Section Coming Soon]

Airheads Gum

[Section Coming Soon]

Airwaves Gum

Airwaves Gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, “flavourings,” and glycerol.

Airwaves (Menthol and Eucalyptus) gum ingredients: “Sweeteners Sorbitol, Isomalt, Maltitol Syrup, Aspartame, Acesulfame K, Mannitol, Gum Base, Glazing Agent Calcium Carbonate, Flavourings, Thickener Gum Arabic, Emulsifier Soybean Lecithin, Humectant Glycerol, Glazing Agent Carnauba Wax, Antioxidant BHA, Colour E141.” (source)

Bazooka Gum

Bazooka Gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, natural flavors, glycerin, and Red 40 Lake.

Bazooka Gum ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Glucose Syrup, Contains 2% or Less of Natural & Artificial Flavors, Glycerin, Citric Acid, Soy Lecithin, BHT (to Maintain Freshness), Red 40 Lake.” (source)

Beemans Gum

Beemans Gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, natural flavoring, and glycerin.

Beemans Gum ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Glucose Syrup, Artificial and Natural Flavoring, Glycerin, Soy Lecithin, and BHT (to maintain Freshness).” (source)

Big League Chew

Big League Chew is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, glycerin, natural flavors, and artificial colors.

Big League Chew ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Corn Syrup, Glycerine, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Soya Lecithin, Aspartame, Red 40 Lake, Red 40, and BHT (to Maintain Freshness).” (source)

Big Red Gum

Big Red gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, sugar, natural flavors, and glycerol.

Wrigley’s Big Red Gum Ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Corn Syrup, Natural and Artificial Flavors; Less than 2% of: Glycerol, Soy Lecithin, Color Added, Acesulfame K, Hydroxylated Soy Lecithin, Aspartame, BHT (to Maintain Freshness).” (source)

Bubble Tape (Hubba Bubba)

Hubba Bubba Bubble Tape is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, glycerol, natural flavors, and red 40 lake.

Bubble Tape Ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Corn Syrup, Glycerol; less than 2% of: Natural and Artificial Flavors, Soy Lecithin, Corn Starch, Acesulfame K, Aspartame, BHT (to maintain Freshness), Color (Red 40 Lake).” (source)

Bubble Yum

Bubble Yum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, glycerin, and blue 1 lake.

Bubble Yum ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Corn Syrup; contains 2% or Less of: Glycerin, Artificial Flavor, Artificial Color (Blue 1 Lake), BHT (to maintain Freshness).” (source)

Bubblicious

Bubblicious bubble gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, natural flavoring, glycerin, red 40 lake, and sucralose.

Bubblicious Ingredients: “Sugar, corn syrup, gum base, less than 2% of: artificial and natural flavoring, BHT (to maintain freshness), cottonseed oil, glycerin, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose, and titanium dioxide (color).” (source)

Canels Gum

Canels gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, natural flavors, glycerin, and artificial colors.

Canels Gum ingredients: Sugar, Gum Base, Corn Syrup, Sorbitol, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Titanium Dioxide, Glycerin, Soybean Lecithin, Polishing Wax, Artificial Colors (Includes Red 40, Blue 1, Red 3, Yellow 5) and B.H.T. (to maintain Freshness). (source)

Chupa Chups Bubble Gum

Chupa Chups Bubble Gum is not vegan. It is colored with carmine (E120), which is made from crushed beetles. It also contains “gum base,” which is sometimes vegan, sometimes not.

Chupa Chups bubble gum ingredients: Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Gum Base, Flavorings, Color (Carmine), Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin), Antioxidant. (source)

Cry Baby Gum

Cry Baby gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, and artificial colors.

Cry Baby gum ingredients: “Sugar, Corn Syrup (Glucose), Gum Base, Dextrose, Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Artificial Flavors, Artificial Colors (FD&C Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5, Yellow 6), Corn Starch, BHT (To Maintain Freshness).” (source)

Dentyne Gum

Dentyne gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, natural flavor, glycerin, and sucralose.

Dentyne gum Ingredients: “Sorbitol, Gum Base, Maltitol, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Mannitol; Less Than 2% Of: Acacia, Acesulfame Potassium, Aspartame, BHT (To Maintain Freshness), Candelilla Wax, Glycerin, Soy Lecithin, Sucralose, Titanium Dioxide (Color).” (source)

Double Bubble

Double Bubble is not strictly vegan. It contains “confectioner’s glaze,” which is secreted by lac beetles. It also contains sugar, gum base, and artificial colors, which are debated amongst vegans, as well.

Double Bubble ingredients: “Sugar, Dextrose, Corn Syrup, Gum Base, Tapioca Dextrin, Titanium Dioxide, Confectioner’s Glaze, Carnauba Wax, Corn Starch, Artificial Flavors, Artificial Colors, (FD&C Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Red 3), and BHT (to maintain freshness).” (source)

Doublemint Gum

Doublemint gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, natural flavor, and glycerol.

Doublemint gum ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Corn Syrup, Dextrose, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Less than 2% of: Aspartame, Glycerol, Soy Lecithin, Acesulfame K, Hydroxylated Soy Lecithin, Color Added, BHT (to Maintain Freshness).” (source)

Eclipse

Eclipse gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, natural flavors, and glycerol.

Eclipse gum ingredients: “Sorbitol, Maltitol, Gum Base, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Glycerol, Acacia, Less than 2% of: Aspartame, Soy Lecithin, Color (Titanium Dioxide), Acesulfame K, Carnauba Wax, BHT (to Maintain Freshness).” (source)

Excel Gum

Excel gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain several controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, natural flavors, and glycerin.

Excel gum ingredients: “Maltitol, Sorbitol, Gum Base, Gum Arabic, Glycerin, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Mannitol, Aspartame, Soy Lecithin, Colour, Acesulfame-Potassium, Carnauba Wax, Aspartame 17.8 mg, Acesulfame-Potassium 2.2mg/2 pieces.” (source)

Extra Gum

[Section Coming Soon]

Falim Gum

Falim gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a couple of controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base and flavorings.

Falim gum ingredients: “Gum base, acidity regulators (sodium bicarbonate 1.3%, sodium carbonate 0.7%), flavorings, colorant (E171), sweetening (acesulfame-K), antioxidant (E320).” (source)

Freedent Gum

Freedent gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a couple of controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, glycerol, and natural flavors.

Freedent gum ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Corn Syrup, Glycerol, Natural Flavors, Sorbitol, Soy Lecithin, Aspartame, Acesulfame K, BHT (to Maintain Freshness).” (source)

Fruit Stripe Gum

Fruit Stripe gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a couple of controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, natural flavors, and artificial colors.

Fruit Stripe gum ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Corn Syrup, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Titanium Dioxide [Color], Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Soy Lecithin.” (source)

Glee Gum

Glee Gum is not vegan. It contains beeswax and resinous glaze, which are both animal products made by insects. It also contains cane sugar, gum base, and natural flavors, which are “gray area” ingredients for vegans.

Glee Gum Ingredients (Bubblegum Flavor): “Cane Sugar, Glucose, Gum Base (Chicle, Calcium Carbonate, Candelilla Wax, Dehydrated Citrus Peels), Brown Rice Syrup, Natural Flavors, Gum Arabic, Resinous Glaze, Beeswax, Carnauba Wax, And Red Beet For Color.” (source)

Ice Breakers Gum

Ice Breakers Ice Cubes Gum is not vegan. It contains gelatin, which is an animal product. It also contains gum base, natural flavors, artificial colors, and sucralose, which are somewhat controversial ingredients among vegans.

Ice Breakers Ice Cubes gum ingredients: “Xylitol; Gum Base; Maltitol Syrup; Mannitol; contains 2% or less of: Natural and Artificial Flavor; Soy Lecithin; Maltodextrin; Artificial Color (Blue 1 Lake; Blue 1); Aspartame*; Gum ACAIA; Gelatin; Acelsulfame Potassium; BHT (to Maintain Freshness); Neotame; Sucralose.” (source)

[Section Coming Soon: More on Ice Breakers Gum]

Jet Gum

Jet gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain glycerol, which is sometimes vegan and sometimes not.

Jet Gum (White Strong Sugar Free) ingredients: “Sweeteners: xylitol, sorbitol; Chewing gum, sweetener: mannitol, maltitol; Thickener: gum arabic; Flavors, coloring matter: titanium dioxide; Filler: polyphosphates; Feichthaltermittel: glycerol; Sweeteners: aspartame; Emulsifier: soya lecithins; Sweetener: acesulfame K; Coating agent: carnauba wax.” (source)

Juicy Fruit

Juicy Fruit gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a couple of controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, natural flavors, glycerol, and Yellow 5 Lake.

Juicy Fruit gum ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Corn Syrup, Dextrose: Less than 2% of: Natural and Artificial Flavors, Glycerol, Soy Lecithin, Aspartame, Acesulfame K, Hydroxylated Soy Lecithin, Color (Yellow 5 Lake), BHT (to Maintain Freshness).” (source)

Mentos Gum

[Section Coming Soon]

Mentos Gum (Pure Fresh Fresh Mint) Ingredients: “Xylitol, Chewing Gum Base, Sorbitol, Mannitol, Glycerol, Maltitol Syrup, Contains Less Than 2 Percent Of: Natural And Artificial Flavors, Gum Arabic, Color (Titanium Dioxide, Turmeric), Aspartame, Acesulfame K, Soya Lecithin, Green Tea Extract, Sucralose, Carnauba Wax, Sodium Carboxymethycellulose, Sucrose Esters Of Fatty Acids, Blue 1, BHA To Maintain Freshness.” (source)

Orbit Gum

[Section Coming Soon]

PK Gum

PK Gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a couple of controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, glycerol (E422), sucralose (E955), and artificial colors.

PK Gum (Blue Licorice) ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Wheat Glucose Syrup, Thickener (1404), Emulsifier (322, From Soy), Flavour, Humectant (422), Sweeteners (955, 961), Glazing Agent (903), Antioxidant(321), Colours (132, 151).” (source)

Project 7 Gum

Project 7 Gum is not strictly vegan. It contains “resinous glaze,” which is an animal ingredient secreted by lac beetles. It also contains gum base, natural flavor, and glycerine, which are debated amongst vegans.

Project 7 Sugar-Free Gum (Coconut Lime) ingredients: “Sorbitol, Maltitol, Gum Base, Maltitol Syrup, Xylitol, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Citric Acid, Titanium Dioxide (Color), Aspartame, Gum Arabic, Acesulfame-K, Malic Acid, Glycerine, Resinous Glaze, Soy Lecithin, Carnauba Wax, Neotame and BHT (to Preserve Freshness).” (source)

PUR Gum

PUR Gum is confirmed vegan. The company clearly labels and promotes its gum as being vegan-friendly and free of animal ingredients..

PUR Wintergreen gum ingredients: “xylitol, gum base, gum arabic, natural flavors, glycerol, carnauba wax, tocopherols.” (source)

Quench Gum

Quench Gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, natural flavors, glycerine, and artificial colors.

Quench Gum ingredients: “Sugar, dextrose, corn syrup (glucose), gum base, citric acid, natural and artificial flavors, glycerine, soy lecithin, potassium tripolyphosphate, potassium chloride, aspartame, acesulfame potassium, artificial colors (fd&c red 40, yellow 5, blue 1), bht (to maintain freshness).” (source)

Run Gum

Run Gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, glyceryl esters, and sucralose.

Run Gum (Mint) ingredients: “sorbitol, gum base, mannitol, xylitol, glyceryl esters, natural mint flavors, silicon dioxide, sucralose and ethyl maltol.” (source)

Simply Gum

Simply Gum is confirmed vegan. The company clearly labels and promotes its gum as being vegan-friendly and free of animal ingredients. Although the gum includes “natural flavor,” we know this is not animal-based in this case.

Simply Gum ingredients: “chicle, organic dried cane juice, organic vegetable glycerin, organic sunflower lecithin, organic rice flour and natural flavor.” (source)

Sour Patch Kid Gum

Sour Patch Kid Gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, glycerin, natural flavors, sucralose, and artificial colors.

Stride Sour Patch Kid Gum (Lime) ingredients: “Sorbitol, gum base, glycerin, mannitol, natural and artificial flavoring, less than 2% of: acesulfame ptassium, adipic acid, aspartame, BHT (To maintain freshness), blue 1 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose, tartaric acid, yellow 5 and yellow 5 lake.” (source)

Spry Gum

Spry Gum is not strictly vegan. It contains beeswax, which is an animal ingredient. It also contains gum base, which is sometimes vegan and sometimes not.

Spry (Cinnamon) gum ingredients): “Xylitol, Gum Base, Cinnamon Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Gum Arabic, Soy Lecithin, Calcium Carbonate, Beeswax.” (source)

Starburst Gum

Starburst Gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, glycerol, natural flavors, sucralose, and artificial colors.

Wrigley’s Juicy Fruit Starburst Gum ingredients: “Sorbitol, Gum Base, Glycerol; Less Than 2% Of: Natural And Artificial Flavors, Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Aspartame-Acesulfame, Soy Lecithin, Mannitol, Aspartame, Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Sucralose, Fumaric Acid, BHT (To Maintain Freshness), Colors (Red 40, Red 40 Lake).” (source)

Stimorol Gum

Stimorol gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, “flavours,” and artificial colors.

Stimorol ingredients: “Sweeteners (maltitol, sorbitol, maltitol syrup, xylitol, aspartame, acesulfame-K), gum base, filler (E 170), flavours, liquorice extract, thickening agent (E 414), dye (E 171), emulsifier (sunflower lecithin), surface treatment agent 903), antioxidant (E 321).” (source)

Stride Gum

[Section Coming Soon]

Super Bubble

Super Bubble gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Sugar, gum base, and Red 40.

Super Bubble Gum Ingredients: “Sugar, Dextrose, Gum Base, Corn Syrup, Sorbitol, Artificial Flavor, BHT (to maintain freshness), Red 40.” (source)

Tic Tac Gum

[Section Coming Soon]
(source)

Trident Gum

[Section Coming Soon]

V6 Gum

Super Bubble gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, sucralose, “flavours,” and sodium stearate.

V6 Gum (White Spearmint) ingredients: “Sweeteners (isomalt, sorbitol, xylitol, maltitols, aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose), gum base, filler (170), flavours, thickening agent (E414), emulsifiers (sodium stearate 0.6%, sunflower lecithin, filler (E170) thickener (E414), emulsifiers (sodium stearate 0.6%, sunflower lecithin, E472a), moisturizing agent (E422), colour (E171), surface treatment agent (E903), antioxidant (E321).” (source)

Velamints Gum

Velamints gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Chewing gum base, magnesium stearate, sucralose, and FDC Blue #1.

Velamints White Gum ingredients: “Sorbitol, Chewing Gum Base, Natural Flavors, Magnesium Stearate, Aspartame, Turmeric Oleoresin Color, Acesulfame-K, Sodium Bicarbonate, Sodium Pyrophosphate, Sucralose, FDC Blue #1.” (source)

Winterfresh Gum

Winterfresh gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, natural flavors, glycerol, and Blue 1 Lake.

Winterfresh gum ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Dextrose, Corn Syrup, Natural and Artificial Flavors; less than 2% of: Glycerol, Aspartame, Soy Lecithin, Acesulfame K, Color (Blue 1 Lake), BHT (to maintain freshness).” (source)

Wrigley’s Spearmint Gum

Wrigley’s Spearmint Gum is generally considered vegan. There are no obvious animal ingredients. However, it does contain a few controversial ingredients that fall in a gray area for vegans: Gum base, natural flavors, glycerol, and artificial colors.

Wrigley’s Spearmint Gum ingredients: “Sugar, Gum Base, Dextrose, Corn Syrup, Less than 2% of: Natural and Artificial Flavors, Glycerol, Soy Lecithin, Aspartame, Acesulfame K, Colors (Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake), BHT (to Maintain Freshness).” (source)

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.