Here’s Every Vegan Option at Dunkin’ Donuts (2020)

Let’s just get this out of the way immediately: Dunkin’ Donuts does not have vegan donuts. I know, I know… it’s so sad. But they do have quite a few other things we can eat. Including vegan sausage!

Vegan options at Dunkin’ Donuts:

  • Cinnamon Raisin Bagel
  • Everything Bagel
  • Plain Bagel
  • Sesame Seed Bagel
  • Beyond Sausage Sandwich (No Eggs or Cheese)
  • Beyond Sausage Wake-Up Wrap (No Eggs or Cheese)
  • Hash Browns
  • Oatmeal with Dried Fruit
  • English Muffin
  • Coffee, Lattes, and More
  • Tea (Many Kinds)
  • Coolattas and Fruity Drinks

Below, I’ll share more on how to order these items vegan. I’ll also share the surprisingly NOT vegan items. I’ll answer common questions, then take a look at the whole-food plant-based (WFPB) options—for those trying to avoid processed food, too!

Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan Menu

This vegan menu was compiled from the allergen info and ingredients lists on the Dunkin’ Donuts website. I also emailed Dunkin’ Donuts about a follow-up question.

Restaurant menus often change and vary by location. I recommend confirming any important information with staff at your Dunkin’ Donuts location.

1. Bagels

I remember the last time I went to Dunkin’ Donuts, I got a half-dozen bagels. I just ordered them all Plain because I didn’t know which other ones were fully vegan.

Well, it turns out all these DD bagels are vegan:

  • Cinnamon Raisin Bagel
  • Everything Bagel
  • Plain Bagel
  • Sesame Seed Bagel

Note: The Multigrain Bagel contains honey, but is otherwise vegan.

2. Beyond Sausage Sandwich (No Eggs or Cheese)

Dunkin’ Donuts has vegan Beyond Sausage patties! These allow you to actually get a good serving of protein with your meal. And they’re delicious, too.

Warning: The “Beyond Sausage Sandwich” menu item does contain cheese and eggs in its standard preparation. Same goes for the Beyond Sausage Wake Up Wrap.

So make sure to order these items without cheese and eggs. Basically, what’s left is an English muffin with a Beyond Sausage patty in it. So, nothing too fancy—but tasty anyway.

Note: You may also see “Veggie Bacon” or “Veggie Sausage” in certain menu items. These non-Beyond mock meats seem to contain eggs and milk, based on the ingredients lists on the Dunkin’ Donuts website.

3. Beyond Sausage Wake-Up Wrap (No Eggs or Cheese)

This is basically the same thing as the Beyond Sausage Sandwich—except it’s in a flour tortilla, not an English muffin. Again, you need to ask to get it without the eggs or cheese.

4. Hash Browns

Hash browns are usually always vegan, unless they’re cooked with lard or animal fat. And in the case of Dunkin’ Donuts, they’re fried in vegetable oil, so yes—these beautiful round hash browns are vegan!

Note: These may be fried in shared fryers with animal products.

5. Oatmeal with Dried Fruit

Dunkin’ Donuts has oatmeal! And thank goodness it comes standard vegan.

You may still want to check at your own location—to make sure they didn’t use milk to make it. But the official ingredients lists say it’s made with water, so it should be.

You’ll probably see it on the menu as:

  • Multigrain Brown Sugar Oatmeal with Dried Fruit Topping

6. English Muffin

This is just a simple English muffin—it’s vegan like they usually are. It comes as the bun for the Beyond Sausage Sandwich, but you can also get it alone.

Note: The “Multigrain Thin” is another type of “bun” at Dunkin’ Donuts, but it’s not strictly vegan, as it contains honey. (Some vegans are okay with honey, but many are not.)

7. Coffee, Lattes, and More

Dunkin’ Donuts has a ton of coffee options. Below are all the vegan ones. Keep in mind that you can add sugar, oat milk, or almond milk to most of these:

  • Hot Coffee
  • Hot Latte
  • Hot Macchiato
  • Mocha Swirl Hot Coffee
  • Iced Coffee
  • Iced Latte
  • Iced Macchiato
  • Iced Americano
  • Mocha Swirl Iced Coffee
  • Cold Brew Coffee
  • Nitro Cold Brew Coffee
  • Americano
  • Box ‘O Joe (Hot Coffee)

They also have these packaged coffees and K-Cups you can buy:

  • Dunkin’ Decaf K-Cup Pod
  • French Vanilla K-Cup Pod
  • Hazelnut K-Cup Pod
  • Original Blend K-Cup Pod
  • Ground Dunkin Decaf Packaged Coffee
  • Ground French Vanilla Packaged Coffee
  • Ground Hazelnut Packaged Coffee
  • Ground Original Blend Packaged Coffee
  • Whole Bean Original Blend Packaged Coffee

8. Tea

Here are some of the vegan teas available at Dunkin’ Donuts, and then th

  • Bold Breakfast Black Tea
  • Decaf Breakfast Black Tea
  • Chamomile Fields Herbal Infusion
  • Cool Mint Herbal Infusion
  • Harmony Leaf Green Tea
  • Hibiscus Kiss Herbal Infusion
  • Iced Green Tea (Sweetened, Unsweetened)
  • Iced Tea (Sweetened, Unsweetened, Blueberry Flavor, Raspberry Flavor, and More)
  • Sweet Tea

All those same teas are also vegan in their packaged versions that you can buy to make at home.

9. Coolattas and Fruity Drinks

There are 3 different flavors of the Coolatta frozen drinks you can get vegan:

  • Blue Raspberry Coolatta
  • Strawberry Coolatta
  • Vanilla Bean Coolatta

And these other fruity drinks also have vegan recipes:

  • Peach Passion Fruit Dunkin’ Refreshers
  • Strawberry Dragonfruit Dunkin’ Refreshers
  • Blue Raspberry Dunkin’ Energy Punch Powered by Monster Energy
  • Strawberry Dunkin’ Energy Punch Powered by Monster Energy

Possible Extra Vegan Items

Restaurants will commonly discontinue menu items, but then bring them back again. Or they may be only available at certain locations.

There are at least two interesting vegan Dunkin’ Donuts items from the past that you may want to keep an eye out for.

If your DD location has either of these, they’re likely to be vegan:

  • French Roll
  • Pretzel Twist

But What About…

Here are some menu items that you might hope would be vegan—but they’re not:

  • The Multigrain Thin is not strictly vegan, as it contains honey.
  • The Pumpkin Muffin is not vegan, as it contains egg and milk.
  • The Stuffed Bagel Minis are not vegan, as they contain milk (cream cheese filling).
  • The Garden Veggie Cream Cheese Spread is not vegan, as it is made from real cheese, not vegan cheese.
  • None of the “Hot Chocolate” items are vegan, as they all contain milk. This includes the Original Hot Chocolate, Box ‘O Joe Hot Chocolate, OREO Hot Chocolate, and Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate.
  • The Muffins are not vegan, as they contain eggs (most also contain milk).
  • The Biscuits are not vegan, as they contain milk.
  • The “OREO Mix-In” is not vegan—even though normal OREOs are vegan—because it contains added milk.
  • The Soft Serve Ice Cream Cones are not vegan, as they contain milk.

Now let’s answer some common questions about eating vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts.

Does Dunkin’ Donuts Have Vegan Donuts?

Dunkin’ Donuts does not have vegan donuts, dairy-free donuts, or eggless donuts. Their donut dough contains both nonfat dry milk and egg yolk.

Here is the ingredients list for their typical donut (without toppings):

INGREDIENTS: Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Palm Oil, Sugar, Cake Donut Mix [Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Nonfat Dry Milk, Egg Yolk, Leavening (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Baking Soda, Sodium Aluminum Phosphate), Sugar, Soy Flour, Soybean Oil, Wheat Starch, Salt, Contains 2% or less of: Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Enzyme, Konjac Flour, Carrageenan, Locust Bean Gum, Cellulose Gum, Wheat Germ, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Soy Lecithin, Beta Carotene (Color)], Soybean Oil.

Does Dunkin’ Donuts Have Vegan Coffee?

Dunkin’ Donuts has many vegan coffee options. Hot coffee, iced coffee, lattes, macchiatos, and Americanos can all be ordered vegan. They typically have oat milk or almond milk available to add, too.

Are Dunkin’ Donuts Bagels Vegan?

Most Dunkin’ Donuts bagels are vegan. This includes Cinnamon Raisin, Everything, Plain, and Sesame Seed. Dunkin’ Donuts bagels do not have eggs.

Here are the non-vegan bagels at Dunkin’ Donuts:

  • Multigrain Bagels contain honey.
  • White Cheddar Bagel Twists contain milk.
  • Stuffed Bagel Minis contain milk.

Are Dunkin’ Hash Browns Vegan?

Dunkin’ Hash Browns are confirmed vegan. They are fried in vegetable oil, not animal fat or lard. They contain no milk, egg, or other animal ingredients.

INGREDIENTS: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Contains one or more of the following: Canola Oil, Soybean Oil, Cottonseed Oil, Sunflower Oil, Corn Oil), Yellow Corn Flour, Salt, Dehydrated Potato Flakes [(Potatoes, Mono and Diglycerides, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate and Citric Acid (Preservative)], Garlic Powder, Spices, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (Preservative), Dextrose, Dehydrated Parsley, Onion Powder.

Whole-Food Plant-Based Options

What if you’re not just vegan, but you’re trying to eat a whole-food plant-based (WFPB) diet? Can you exclude all animal products and processed foods, and still get a full meal at Dunkin’ Donuts?

Here are the WFPB options I see:

  • Coffee or Tea without sugar
  • Maybe: Oatmeal (but the normal recipe has added sugar)

You might be able to order the oatmeal without added sugar and brown sugar. I just sent Dunkin’ Donuts an email to ask about this. I’ll update this post if I hear back.

If you can’t get the oatmeal without sugar, then it’s probably just going to be coffee or tea for you. Unless you see another option at your location like bananas or another fruit side.

Most of the other vegan items contain highly processed ingredients:

  • The English Muffin contains processed flour, sugar, and oil.
  • The Bagels contain processed flour and sugar (even the Plain bagels).
  • The Beyond Sausage contains processed oils.
  • The Hash Browns contain processed oils.

Like most fast-food places, Dunkin’ Donuts is not great for WFPB. I’d maybe recommend checking out Wendy’s instead for the baked potato (see my full Wendy’s vegan menu).

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.

Sharing is caring!

Are you currently vegan?