Here’s Every Vegan Option at Boston Market (2020)

Boston Market is pretty far from being a “vegan-friendly restaurant.” That said, you can still find some vegan options there. In fact, there’s even a vegan dessert! No kidding!

Vegan options at Boston Market:

  • Fresh Steamed Vegetables
  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Apple Pie
  • Cinnamon Apples
  • Salad (No Cheese, Croutons, or Dressing)
  • Crackers
  • Sauces
  • Beverages

More details on all these below. I’ll also answer some common questions about Boston Market mashed potatoes, gravy, and cornbread!

I’ll end with a whole-food-plant-based guide to Boston Market for those of you avoiding fried and processed food, too!

Boston Market Vegan Menu

To make this vegan menu, I consulted Boston Market’s official allergen menu on their website. Their website also includes full ingredients list, so I was able to get solid confirmation on these items.

That said, it never hurts to check with the staff at your local Boston Market, in case they do things differently.

1. Fresh Steamed Vegetables

Broccoli, carrots, and zucchini—prepared with an olive oil blend. This is supposed to be dairy-free, but I would double-check. Make sure they aren’t adding butter or anything.

As far as other vegetable dishes at Boston Market: The Sweet Corn does not come vegan—it contains milk. But it may be possible to order it vegan. The broccoli on the hand…

2. Steamed Broccoli

The steamed broccoli is vegan. Broccoli tends to be a bit safer than other vegetable sides at restaurants because it’s steamed.

You should still specify that you want it without dairy, just to make sure. Places like Boston Market tend to just go overboard with butter on everything.

3. Apple Pie

I’m not kidding—the apple pie is vegan! This is actually not that surprising. Apple pie is often vegan if there’s not lard in the crust. Here’s the ingredients for Boston Market’s Apple Pie if you don’t believe me:

Ingredients: Apples, Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Vegetable Shortening (Palm Oil, Soybean Oil), Water, Sugar, Food Starch- Modified, Dextrose, Salt, Cinnamon, Sodium Propionate (Preservative), Tapioca Dextrin, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Malic Acid, Nutmeg.

None of the other pies at Boston Market appear to be vegan, however.

4. Cinnamon Apples

This is another option at some locations—similar to the Apple Pie, but without the crust? I’ve never gotten it myself, but that’s what it looks like.

5. Salad (No Cheese, Croutons, or Dressing)

This won’t be the best salad you’ve ever had. But it’s an option. Get the house side salad—as k for no cheese, croutons, or ranch dressing. It contains romaine lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, and red onion.

The allergen menu on the Boston Market website doesn’t list any vegan salad dressings—it only has ranch and caesar dressings. That said, you could scope it out in person, see if there are options at your location.

6. Crackers

Some Boston Markets will have a little side of crackers, and they look to be vegan based on the allergen guide. Not great to fill up on or anything, but it could help round out your meal.

7. Sauces

These are the vegan sauces you can expect to see, in case you want to add them to your broccoli or salad or anything:

  • Cranberry Walnut Relish
  • Zesty Barbecue (mild)
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard

8. Beverages

I couldn’t find a full list of drinks at Boston Market to include here, but most soda, lemonade, root beer, tea, and juice is vegan.

But What About…

The following items might look vegan at first, but they’re actually not vegan:

  • The Sweet Corn does not come vegan. It contains milk—but it may be possible to order it vegan.
  • The Fresh Vegetable Stuffing is not vegan. it contains egg yolk and whey (milk).
  • The Garlic Dill New Potatoes are not vegan. They contain milk.
  • The Cornbread is not vegan. It contains eggs and milk.

Is Boston Market Gravy Vegetarian?

Boston Market Gravy is not vegetarian. They have poultry gravy, which contains chicken and turkey, and they have beef gravy, which contains beef.

Are Boston Market Mashed Potatoes Vegan?

Boston Market mashed potatoes are not vegan. They contain whole milk and butter.

Is Boston Market Cornbread Vegan?

Boston Market Cornbread is not vegan. It contains both eggs and milk.

Whole-Food Plant-Based Options

With each of my vegan guides to chain restaurants, I like to include a list of whole-food plant-based (WFPB) options. If you’re vegan for health and trying to avoid fried and processed food in addition to animal foods, this will hopefully help.

WFPB options at Boston Market:

  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Fresh Steamed Vegetables (No Oil Added)
  • House Salad (No Cheese, Croutons, or Dressing)

You may also be able to get the sweet corn. Ask if you can get it without any butter or oil.

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.