Here’s Every Vegan Option at Baskin Robbins (2020)

Baskin Robbins is the biggest ice cream chain in the world. And thanks to growing demand, in August 2019 they finally launched two vegan ice cream flavors. Then a few months later, they added another. Now we’ve got choices!

Vegan options at Baskin Robbins:

  • Non-Dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream
  • Non-Dairy Chocolate Extreme Ice Cream
  • Non-Dairy Coffee Caramel Chunk Ice Cream
  • Raspberry Sorbet
  • Daiquiri Ice
  • Watermelon Splash Ice
  • Citrus Twist Ice (Canada Only)
  • Cake Cone (Regular Cone)
  • Toppings
  • Dunkin’ Coffee

Read on to learn which items are surprisingly NOT vegan. I’ll also answer some common questions about their smoothies and cones. Then I’ll end with a crazy story about how the heir to the Baskin Robbins empire went vegan and rejected his role in the company!

Baskin Robbins Vegan Menu

The following vegan menu was made with ingredients lists on the Baskin Robbins website, as well as other reports from vegan bloggers and news outlets.

Restaurant menus often change and vary by location. I recommend double-checking any important information with staff at your Baskin Robbins location.

Vegan Ice Cream Flavors

These vegan ice creams are made with an “coconut oil and almond butter base”:

  • Non-Dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough – contains vegan cookie dough, chocolate chunks, and a “chocolate ribbon.”
  • Non-Dairy Chocolate Extreme – contains just the chocolate chunks and “chocolate ribbon.”
  • Non-Dairy Coffee Caramel Chunk – has an espresso base, vegan caramel ribbon, and chocolate chunks.

Sorbet

There’s only one regular vegan sorbet flavor:

  • Raspberry Sorbet

Note: If you see Miami Vice Sorbet, that should also be vegan. But I wouldn’t count on it being offered.

Ices

These are a solid vegan offering that Baskin Robbins has had for years before getting actual vegan ice cream:

  • Daiquiri Ice
  • Watermelon Splash Ice
  • Citrus Twist Ice (Canada Only)

Note: The Horchata Ice flavor (seasonal) is likely also vegan based on what sources say.

Vegan Cones

There’s only one main vegan cone at BR:

  • Cake Cone (Regular Cone)

If you see chocolate dipped Cake Cones with sprinkles (“Fancy Cake Cones”), those should be vegan, too. The chocolate coating does not contain dairy.

Note: The Sugar Cone contains honey, but would otherwise be vegan. The Waffle Cone contains milk and eggs.

Vegan Toppings

The exact toppings will vary by location. But here are some of the vegan toppings they should have:

  • Maraschino Cherries
  • Rainbow Sprinkles
  • Chocolate Sprinkles
  • Chopped Almonds
  • OREO Cookie Pieces
  • REESE’S Peanut Butter Sauce
  • Chocolate Syrup

Dunkin’ Coffee

Since Dunkin’ Brands owns Baskin Robbins, most locations also offer Dunkin’ coffee. And these are all vegan:

  • Box O’ Joe Coffee
  • Original Blend Coffee
  • Dunkin’ Decaf Coffee
  • French Vanilla Coffee
  • Hazelnut Coffee
  • Dark Roast Coffee

But What About…

Now let’s answer some common questions about how to eat vegan at Baskin Robbins.

Are Baskin Robbins Smoothies Vegan?

Baskin Robbins smoothies are not typically vegan, as they contain dairy in the form of yogurt. However, you may be able to order them without yogurt by request.

Is Baskin Robbins Rainbow Sherbet Vegan?

Baskin Robbins Rainbow Sherbet is not vegan, as it contains dairy ingredients. Specifically, it contains nonfat milk, cream, and whey.

Here is the full ingredients list for Baskin Robbins Rainbow Sherbet:

INGREDIENTS: “Water, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Nonfat Milk, Cream, Pineapple Puree Base [Pineapple, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Pineapple Juice Concentrate, Glycerin, Natural Flavor, Guar Gum, Locust Bean Gum, Citric Acid, Ascorbic Acid], Raspberry Puree [Red Raspberries, Sugar], Orange Puree [Water, Sugar, Orange Juice Concentrate, Orange Pulp Cells, Citric Acid, Orange Oil], Whey Powder, Citric Acid, Stabilizer Blend [Locust Bean Gum, Modified Cellulose, Guar Gum], Elderberry Juice Concentrate (Color), Natural and Artificial Flavor, Annatto (Color).” (Source)

Does Baskin Robbins Ice Cream Have Eggs?

The following 6 flavors of Baskin Robbins ice cream do contain eggs:

  • Mom’s Makin’ Cookies
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream
  • Made with Snickers Bars
  • Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream
  • Lemon Custard
  • German Chocolate Cake

However, most Baskin Robbins ice cream does not contain eggs. And this includes the Non-Dairy flavors. Currently, none of the Non-Dairy flavors include eggs.

How Many Calories Does Baskin Robbins Vegan Ice Cream Have Per Scoop?

Baskin Robbins Non-Dairy & Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream contains 170 calories in a 2.5 oz scoop, or 270 calories in a 4 oz scoop. (source)

What Is In Baskin Robbins Vegan Ice Cream?

Baskin Robbins vegan ice cream is made from a refined coconut oil and almond butter base, with a lot of sugar and other sweeteners and flavorings added.

Here is the ingredients list for their Non-Dairy & Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough flavor:

INGREDIENTS: “Water, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Flavor Base [Brown Sugar, Water, Wheat Flour, Molasses, Natural Flavors, Salt, Sugar, Locust Bean Gum], Chocolate Ribbon [Corn Syrup, Sugar, Water, Glycerin, Cocoa, Modified Corn Starch, Chocolate processed with alkali, Salt, Xanthan Gum], Sugar, Refined Coconut Oil, Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chunks [Sugar, Unsweetened Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Soy Lecithin], Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pieces [Wheat Flour, Brown Sugar, Sugar, Palm Oil, Soybean Oil, Water, Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (Sugar, Chocolate Liquor, Cocoa Butter, Sunflower Lecithin, Vanilla Extract), Corn Starch, Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavor, Molasses, Vanilla Extract, Baking Soda, Salt], Almond Butter [Almonds, Vegetable Fat (Sunflower), Sunflower Lecithin], Corn Syrup, Dextrose, Contains 2% or less of: Potato Starch, Cellulose Gel, Sunflower Lecithin, Cellulose Gum, Locust Bean Gum.” (source)

Whole-Food Plant-Based Options?

Usually in my restaurant guides, I like to include a section on whole-food plant-based (WFPB) options. That is, options without animal products or processed foods. But in this case, it’s really just about nothing.

Pretty much everything in Baskin Robbins is loaded with processed sugar. Even if you just got a plain dry ice cream cone, it’s made of processed white wheat flour—not WFPB.

Really just the coffee would be WFPB. And assuming they serve water, that would be, too!

The Baskin Robbins Heir Who Went Vegan and Gave Up His Fortune

This is a pretty crazy story that I just had to mention in this post.

Did you know: The only son of Baskin Robbins’ co-founder Irvine Robbins, after growing up with an ice-cream-cone-shaped swimming pool, actually ended up rejecting his role in continuing the company? (source)

John Robbins grew up with a lucrative path laid out in front of him, where he would take over Baskin Robbins from his dad.

But as he grew up, he learned more and more about the health issues with ice cream, as well as the abuse of cows on dairy farms. And when he reached adulthood, he decided to go live in a cabin with his wife—living off just $500 a month.

He ended up writing a book in 1987 called Diet for a New America—maybe you’ve heard of it? And he started the Food Revolution Network (and wrote a bunch more books). He now teaches people around the world how to eat a plant-based diet.

So yes, the supposed-to-be heir to the Baskin Robbins fortune actually went vegan and rejected the whole thing!

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.

Sharing is caring!