Vegan Graham Cracker Brands: Full List [57 Products Checked]

Graham crackers are often seen as synonymous with honey, and therefore not vegan-friendly. However, I recently decided to challenge this assumption. I went and checked 57 different graham cracker products to find out how many vegan options we actually have.

I found 14 vegan graham cracker options:

  • Annie’s Organic Chocolate Chip Bunny Grahams
  • Annie’s Organic Birthday Cake Bunny Grahams
  • Annie’s Organic Chocolate Bunny Grahams
  • Annie’s Gluten Free Cocoa & Vanilla Bunny Grahams
  • Annie’s Gluten Free Snickerdoodle Bunny Grahams
  • Keebler Grahams: Original
  • Keebler Grahams: Cinnamon
  • Keebler Grahams: Low Fat Cinnamon
  • Keebler Chocolate Elf Grahams
  • Kroger Original Graham Crackers
  • Nabisco Original Grahams
  • Teddy Grahams: Cinnamon
  • Teddy Grahams: Chocolate
  • Great Value Fudge Graham Cookies

Below, I’ll share the full results of my research into 57 graham cracker products. How many contain dairy? What problematic ingredients should you be looking for? There’s actually another insect ingredient I found in one product, other than honey!

Are Graham Crackers Vegan?

Most graham crackers are not vegan. Out of 57 graham cracker products checked, only 14 products (25%) were vegan. The most common non-vegan ingredient was honey (40 products or 70%). Other non-vegan ingredients found were dairy (6 products) and confectioner’s glaze (1 product).

Now, let’s dig a little bit deeper into which non-vegan ingredients you should be looking for with graham crackers.

Do Graham Crackers Contain Dairy?

Most graham crackers do not contain dairy, milk, or lactose. Out of 57 graham cracker products checked, only 6 products (11%) contained dairy ingredients. Furthermore, none of those 6 products were your “typical” style of graham crackers.

Here are the six products that contained dairy, from the ones I checked:

  • Annie’s Neapolitan Bunny Grahams *
  • Keebler Deluxe Grahams [Fudge Covered]
  • Pamela’s Gluten-Free Honey Grahams
  • Pamela’s Gluten-Free Cinnamon Grahams
  • Pamela’s Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Grahams
  • Trader Joe’s Dark Choc. Covered Honey Grahams w/ Sea Salt

So you’ve got two of the fudge-covered grahams, one brand of gluten-free grahams, and then a random flavor of Annie’s Bunny Grahams with dairy. All the other graham crackers I checked were dairy-free.

Note (*) = Annie’s Neapolitan Bunny Grahams do not contain an allergy warning for milk. However, they contain “Natural Butter Flavor.” I suspect this ingredient is derived from dairy—but admittedly, I’m not sure.

Do Graham Crackers Contain Eggs?

Graham crackers do not contain eggs. Out of 57 graham cracker products checked, zero contained eggs. That’s right—not even one!

Do Graham Crackers Contain Honey?

Most graham crackers contain honey. Out of 57 graham cracker products checked, forty products (70%) contained honey. Even flavors besides “Honey” often contain honey. For example, many cinnamon graham crackers contain honey.

Some vegans are actually okay with eating honey, though. Despite it being a product of bees (animals), it’s not really known if bees suffer or to what degree they experience consciousness.

If you are a vegan who eats honey, you can still use the information below to help you identify graham crackers that don’t have any animal-derived ingredients besides honey.

What Is Confectioner’s Glaze?

One unexpected animal ingredient that showed up in my research was confectioner’s glaze. This ingredient is sometimes called “shellac” or “lac resin.”

It’s a product made by lac beetles. So, as with honey, it’s another insect product, and most vegans (but not) avoid it.

Confectioner’s glaze is typically used as a coating on pills or candies. And unfortunately, it’s found in one specific flavor of Teddy Grahams. More on that below.

Which Graham Crackers Are Vegan?

Alright, let’s review which of the following brands have vegan graham crackers. Click to skip to the brand of your choice:

Are you ready? Let’s dive in!

Are 365 Graham Crackers Vegan? (Whole Foods)

365 graham crackers are not vegan, as both flavors contain honey. Here are the exact products I was able to check:

Graham CrackersAre They Vegan?
365 Organic Honey Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
365 Organic Cinnamon Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Are Whole Foods Graham Crackers Vegan? (Source)

Are Annie’s Graham Crackers and Bunny Grahams Vegan?

Annie’s full-size graham crackers are not vegan, as they contain honey. However, half of all Bunny Grahams flavors are vegan, including Chocolate Chip, Birthday Cake, Chocolate, and both gluten-free flavors.

Here is the full breakdown of flavors I was able to check:

Graham CrackersAre They Vegan?
Annie’s Organic Honey Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Annie’s Organic Cinnamon Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Annie’s Organic Friends Bunny GrahamsNo (Contains Honey)
Annie’s Organic Chocolate Chip Bunny GrahamsVegan
Annie’s Organic Honey Bunny GrahamsNo (Contains Honey)
Annie’s Organic Birthday Cake Bunny GrahamsVegan
Annie’s Organic Cinnamon Bunny GrahamsNo (Contains Honey)
Annie’s Organic Chocolate Bunny GrahamsVegan
Annie’s Gluten Free Cocoa & Vanilla Bunny GrahamsVegan
Annie’s Gluten Free Snickerdoodle Bunny GrahamsVegan
Annie’s Neapolitan Bunny GrahamsNo (Contains Natural Butter Flavor)
Annie’s S’mores Bunny GrahamsNo (Contains Honey)
Are Annie’s Graham Crackers and Bunny Grahams Vegan? (Source)

Are Benton’s Graham Crackers Vegan?

Benton’s graham crackers are not vegan, as both flavors contain honey. Here are the exact products I was able to check:

Graham CrackersAre They Vegan?
Benton’s Cookies: Honey Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Benton’s Cookies: Cinnamon Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Are Benton’s Graham Crackers Vegan?

Are Happy Belly Graham Crackers Vegan?

Happy Belly graham crackers are not vegan, as both flavors contain honey. Here are the exact products I was able to check:

Graham CrackersAre They Vegan?
Happy Belly: Honey Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Happy Belly: Cinnamon Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Are Happy Belly Graham Crackers Vegan?

Are Honey Maid Graham Crackers Vegan?

Honey Maid graham crackers are not vegan, as all flavors contain honey.

Here are the exact products I was able to check:

Graham CrackersAre They Vegan?
Honey Maid Honey Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Honey Maid Cinnamon Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Honey Maid Chocolate Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Honey Maid Low Fat Honey Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Honey Maid Graham Cracker CrumbsNo (Contains Honey)
Are Honey Maid Graham Crackers Vegan? (Source)

Are Keebler Graham Crackers Vegan?

Four Keebler graham cracker flavors are vegan: Original, Cinnamon, Low Fat Cinnamon, and Chocolate Elf Grahams. All other Keebler graham crackers contain honey or, in the case of the fudge-covered grahams, milk ingredients.

Here is the full breakdown of flavors and products I was able to check:

Graham CrackersAre They Vegan?
Keebler Grahams: OriginalVegan
Keebler Grahams: HoneyNo (Contains Honey)
Keebler Grahams: CinnamonVegan
Keebler Grahams: Low Fat CinnamonVegan
Keebler Grahams Bites OriginalNo (Contains Honey)
Keebler Grahams Bug BitesNo (Contains Honey)
Keebler Chocolate Elf GrahamsVegan
Keebler Deluxe Grahams [Fudge Covered]No (Contains Whey)
Keebler Graham Cracker CrumbsNo (Contains Honey)
Are Keebler Graham Crackers Vegan?

Are Kroger Graham Crackers Vegan?

Kroger’s “Original” Graham Crackers are vegan. However, all other flavors of Kroger graham crackers are not vegan, as they contain honey.

Here’s the exact breakdown of flavors I was able to check:

Graham CrackersAre They Vegan?
Kroger Original Graham CrackersVegan
Kroger Honey Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Kroger Cinnamon Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Kroger “Chocolate Animals” Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Are Kroger Graham Crackers Vegan? (Source)

Are Market Pantry Graham Crackers Vegan?

Market Pantry Graham Crackers are not vegan, as they contain honey. Here are the full ingredients:

Market Pantry Honey Graham Crackers Ingredients: “Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Graham Flour (Whole Grain Wheat Flour), Sugar, Canola And/Or Soybean And/Or Palm Oil, Honey, Leavening (Baking Soda, Calcium Phosphate), Salt, Natural Flavor, Soy Lecithin, Sodium Sulfite.” (Source)

Are Nabisco Graham Crackers Vegan?

Nabisco Original Grahams are vegan graham crackers. They do not contain honey or any other animal products.

Below are the full ingredients. As you can see, instead of honey, they just have sugar and molasses for sweetening:

Nabisco Original Grahams Ingredients: “Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Graham Flour (Whole Grain Wheat Flour), Sugar, Canola Oil, Molasses, Palm Oil, Leavening (Baking Soda And/Or Calcium Phosphate), Salt.” (Source)

Are Pamela’s Honey Grahams Vegan?

Pamel’s Honey Grahams are not vegan, as all flavors contain butter and honey. If you’re looking for a gluten-free graham cracker that is vegan, check out the gluten-free flavors of Annie’s Bunny Grahams.

Here are the exact flavors of Pamela’s that I was able to check:

Graham CrackersAre They Vegan?
Pamela’s Honey GrahamsNo (Contains Butter, Honey)
Pamela’s Cinnamon GrahamsNo (Contains Butter, Honey)
Pamela’s Chocolate Chip GrahamsNo (Contains Butter, Honey)
Are Pamela’s Honey Grahams Vegan? (Source)

Are Schar Honeygrams Vegan?

Schar’s Gluten-Free Honeygrams are not vegan, as they contain honey. If you’re looking for a vegan and gluten-free graham cracker, check out the gluten-free flavors of Annie’s Bunny Grahams.

Here are the full ingredients for the Schar’s product:

Schar Gluten-Free Honeygrams Ingredients: “Corn Starch, Brown Sugar, Corn Flour, Palm Fat, Soy Flour, Soy Bran, Honey, Modified Tapioca Starch, Ammonium Bicarbonate, Baking Soda, Salt, Caramelized Sugar.” (Source)

Are Scooby Doo Graham Crackers Vegan?

Scooby Doo graham crackers are not vegan, as both flavors contain honey. Here are the exact flavors I was able to check:

Graham Cracker SnacksAre They Vegan?
Scooby-Doo! Baked Graham Cracker Snacks: CinnamonNo (Contains Honey)
Scooby-Doo! Baked Graham Cracker Snacks: HoneyNo (Contains Honey)
Are Scooby Doo Graham Crackers Vegan?

Are Teddy Grahams Vegan?

There are two vegan flavors of Teddy Grahams: Cinnamon and Chocolate. All other flavors of Teddy Grahams are not vegan, as they all contain either honey or confectioner’s glaze.

Here’s the full breakdown of flavors I was able to check:

Teddy Grahams FlavorAre They Vegan?
Teddy Grahams: HoneyNo (Contains Honey)
Teddy Grahams: CinnamonVegan
Teddy Grahams: Chocolatey ChipNo (Contains Confectioner’s Glaze)
Teddy Grahams: ChocolateVegan
Teddy Grahams: BananaNo (Contains Honey)
Teddy Grahams: Strawberry BananaNo (Contains Honey)
Teddy Grahams: AppleNo (Contains Honey)
Are Teddy Grahams Vegan? (Primary Source)

Are Trader Joe’s Graham Crackers Vegan?

Trader Joe’s graham crackers are not vegan, as all flavors contain honey. Their Dark Chocolate Covered Honey Grahams also contain milk.

Here are the exact products I was able to check:

Graham Cracker ProductIs It Vegan?
Trader Joe’s Honey Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Trader Joe’s Old Fashioned Cinnamon GrahamsNo (Contains Honey)
Trader Joe’s Dark Choc. Covered Honey Grahams w/ Sea SaltNo (Contains Milk, Honey)
Are Trader Joe’s Graham Crackers Vegan?

Are Walmart Graham Crackers Vegan? (Great Value)

Walmart’s Great Value graham crackers are not vegan, as both flavors (Honey and Cinnamon) contain honey. However, their fudge-covered grahams—”Fudge Graham Cookies”—actually are vegan.

Here are the exact products I was able to check:

Graham CrackersAre They Vegan?
Great Value Honey Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Great Value Cinnamon Graham CrackersNo (Contains Honey)
Great Value Fudge Graham CookiesVegan
Are Great Value Graham Crackers Vegan?

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.