Which Store-Bought Pizza Crusts Are Vegan? [117 Products Analyzed]

There aren’t many things in this world more exciting than the words “vegan pizza night.” But making your own pizza dough from scratch takes a while. Luckily for us lazy vegans, there are store-bought crusts you can use. Today, I decided to research all the most popular brands and map out the vegan options.

Out of 117 store-bought pizza crusts I analyzed, 79 were vegan and 38 were not vegan. This means about 68% of store-bought pizza crusts are vegan. Milk ingredients like cheese and whey are the most common non-vegan ingredients to avoid, followed by eggs and honey.

Below, I’ll share the full results of this study, complete with tables and lists of which brands and which specific pizza crusts are vegan. I’ll also take a closer look specifically at gluten-free pizza crusts, including cauliflower pizza crusts—are they usually vegan?

Is Pizza Crust Vegan?

The ingredients for pizza crust can potentially be quite simple. Some frozen pizza doughs on the market have as few as 5 ingredients, such as “Wheat Flour, Water, Salt, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Yeast.”

But in practice, it varies—and it does get more complicated. Below we’ll take a look at a few ingredients of concern to us vegan. But first, let’s take a bird’s eye view of which pizza crust brands are vegan.

For brands that offer both vegan and non-vegan pizza crusts, I’ve marked them as “Mixed.” As you can see, there are actually a ton of vegan pizza crust brands. Click any of the brand names to see more detail on their offerings:

Pizza Crust BrandAre Their Crusts Vegan?
Angelic BakehouseVegan
ASDAVegan
Betty CrockerVegan
BoboliNot Vegan
Bob’s Red MillVegan
Brooklyn BredVegan
Cali’flour FoodsMixed
Capello’sNot Vegan
CaulipowerNot Vegan
Chef BoyardeeVegan
DeioriosVegan
DeLalloVegan
Engine 2Vegan
FlatoutVegan
Golden Home: Ultra ThinNot Vegan
Good And GatherVegan
Great ValueVegan
Green Giant Cauliflower CrustVegan
KrogerMixed
Little Northern BakehouseVegan
Mama Mary’sMixed
Market PantryVegan
Mauk Family FarmsVegan
MiaVegan
Midtown Pizza Co.Vegan
Molinaro’sMixed
NamasteVegan
Outer AisleNot Vegan
PastorelliNot Vegan
PillsburyVegan
Pizza BuddyVegan
PublixVegan
RhodesVegan
Rustic CrustMixed
Signature SelectVegan
ScharVegan
Simple Truth OrganicVegan
Simply BalancedVegan
Sutter ButtesVegan
TiseoVegan
Trader Joe’sMixed
Udi’sNot Vegan
Venice BakeryMixed
WegmansMixed
WewalkaNot Vegan
Wholly WholesomeVegan
WrawpVegan
Which Pizza Crust Brands Are Vegan?

Now let’s address some more specific questions about what pizza crust is made out of.

Does Pizza Crust Contain Dairy?

Out of 117 store-bought pizza crusts analyzed, 27 contained dairy products. This means 23% of the crusts contained dairy. So most pizza crusts are dairy-free, but still, about 1 in 4 crusts contain dairy.

Dairy products commonly used in pizza crusts include mozzarella cheese, whey, butter, casein, or parmesan cheese.

Does Pizza Crust Contain Eggs?

Out of 117 store-bought pizza crusts analyzed, 15 contained eggs. This means 13% of the crusts contained egg. Eggs are most common in gluten-free pizza crusts, especially in cauliflower crust and other vegetable-based crusts.

See below to learn which cauliflower crusts are actually fully vegan (it’s rare, but it happens!).

Does Pizza Crust Contain Lard?

Out of 117 store-bought pizza crusts analyzed, zero contained lard, tallow, or animal fat as listed ingredients. Therefore, it seems that lard is not an ingredient commonly used in pizza crusts today.

Is Gluten-Free Pizza Dough Vegan?

Out of 13 brands that offer store-bought gluten-free pizza crusts, 7 were vegan, 5 were not vegan, and 1 offered both vegan and non-vegan gluten-free crusts.

So, as you can see, there is no standard for whether gluten-free pizza crusts are vegan nowadays. Hopefully we are on the cusp of more growth in the vegan movement and there will be more ideal pizza options offered soon.

Here’s the table of the gluten-free options I analyzed for this post:

Gluten-Free Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pizza Crust MixVegan
Cali’flour Foods Gluten-Free Pizza CrustsSome Are Vegan
Little Northern Bakehouse Pizza CrustVegan
Mama Mary’s Gluten Free Pizza Crust OptionsVegan
Mauk Family Farms Raw Pizza CrustVegan
Molinaro’s Gluten Free Zucchini Pizza KitNot Vegan
Namaste Gluten-Free Pizza Crust MixVegan
Schar Gluten-Free Pizza CrustVegan
Simple Truth OrganicNot Vegan
Trader Joe’s Pizza Dough (Gluten-Free)Not Vegan
Udi’s Pizza CrustNot Vegan
Wegmans Gluten Free Pizza CrustNot Vegan
Wholly Wholesome Gluten-Free Pizza CrustVegan
Is Gluten-Free Pizza Dough Vegan?

Is Cauliflower Pizza Crust Vegan?

Out of nine cauliflower pizza crusts analyzed, six were vegan, and three were non-vegan. So two-thirds of cauliflower crusts in stores are vegan.

Egg and cheese were tied for the most common non-vegan ingredient in cauliflower pizza crusts. Here’s the full breakdown:

Cauliflower Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Caulipower Pizza CrustNo (Contains Egg)
Green Giant Cauliflower Pizza CrustVegan
Molinaro’s Cauliflower Pizza KitNo (Contains Cheese)
Outer Aisle Pizza CrustNo (Contains Egg and Cheese)
Rustic Crust: CauliflowerVegan
Trader Joe’s Cauliflower Pizza CrustVegan
Venice Bakery Pizza Crust: Vegan CauliflowerVegan
Venice Bakery Pizza Crust: Vegan Seasoned CauliflowerVegan
Wegmans Thin, Crispy Cauliflower Pizza CrustVegan
Is Cauliflower Pizza Crust Vegan?

Is Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Vegan?

Out of four store-bought whole wheat pizza crusts analyzed, two were vegan, and two were not. Of course, this is not a very big sample size to draw conclusions about whether whole wheat crusts tend to be vegan or not overall.

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Boboli 100% Whole Wheat Pizza CrustNo (Contains Milk Ingredients)
Pastorelli Ultra Thin Whole Wheat Pizza CrustNo (Contains Milk Ingredients)
Trader Joe’s Pizza Dough (Wheat)Vegan
Wegmans Pizza Dough (Whole Wheat)Vegan
Is Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Vegan?

What Store-Bought Pizza Crust Is Vegan?

Alright, it’s time to take a look at some specific store-bought pizza crust brands!

Is Angelic Bakehouse Pizza Crust Vegan?

Angelic Bakehouse Pizza Crust is generally considered vegan. All three varieties are free of milk, egg, honey, and other animal ingredients. Here’s the full breakdown:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Flatzza Whole Grain Pizza CrustsVegan
Flatzza Whole Grain Buddy CrustsVegan
Reduced Sodium Flatzza Whole Grain CrustsVegan
Is Angelic Bakehouse Pizza Crust Vegan? (Source)

Is ASDA Ready Rolled Pizza Dough Vegan?

ASDA Ready Rolled Pizza Dough is generally considered vegan. It does not contain any milk, egg, honey, or other animal ingredients. Here’s the full ingredients list:

ASDA Ready Rolled Pizza Dough Ingredients: “Fortified Wheat Flour [Wheat Flour, Calcium Carbonate, Iron, Niacin (B3), Thiamin (B1)], Water, Margarine [Palm Fat, Water, Palm Oil, Rapeseed Oil, Salt, Emulsifier (Mono- and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids), Lemon Juice], Wheat Gluten, Baking Powder [Raising Agents (Sodium Carbonates, Calcium Phosphates, Diphosphates)], Sugar, Preservative (Potassium Sorbate), Salt, Deactivated Yeast.” (source)

Is Betty Crocker Pizza Crust Mix Vegan?

Betty Crocker Pizza Crust Mix is considered vegan. It does not contain any milk, egg, honey, or other animal ingredients. Here’s the full ingredients list:

Betty Crocker Pizza Crust Mix Ingredients: “Enriched Flour Bleached (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Palm Oil, Leavening (Dry Yeast, Sodium Aluminum Phosphate, Baking Soda), Dextrose, Salt. Freshness Preserved By BHA.” (source)

Is Boboli Pizza Crust Vegan?

Boboli Pizza Crust is not vegan. All three flavors contain multiple milk ingredients, including casein, mozzarella cheese, and whey. Here are the specific products I checked:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Boboli Original Pizza CrustNo (Contains Milk Ingredients)
Boboli Thin Pizza CrustNo (Contains Milk Ingredients)
Boboli 100% Whole Wheat Pizza CrustNo (Contains Milk Ingredients)
Is Boboli Pizza Crust Vegan?

Is Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix Vegan?

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix is considered vegan. It does not contain any milk, egg, honey, or other animal ingredients. Here’s the full ingredients list:

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix Ingredients: “Brown Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Whole Grain Millet Flour, Whole Grain Sorghum Flour, Tapioca Flour, Potato Flour, Cane Sugar, Xanthan Gum, Sea Salt, Guar Gum. Yeast Packet: Yeast, Sorbitan Monostearate, Ascorbic Acid.” (source)

Is Brooklyn Bred Pizza Crust Vegan?

Brooklyn Bred Pizza Crust is generally considered vegan. All three varieties—Traditional, Original, and Ancient Grains—are free of milk, egg, honey, and other animal ingredients.

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Brooklyn Bred Traditional Pizza CrustVegan
Brooklyn Bred Original Pizza CrustVegan
Brooklyn Bred Ancient Grains Pizza CrustVegan
Is Brooklyn Bred Pizza Dough Vegan? (Source)

Is Cali’flour Foods Pizza Crust Vegan?

Cali’flour Foods has two vegan pizza crusts: Plant-Based Italian and Plant-Based Plain. All other Cali’flour Foods pizza crusts contain cheese and egg. Take note that these are gluten-free and keto-friendly crusts. Here’s the full breakdown of flavors and varieties:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Cali’flour Traditional Original Italian CrustNo (Contains Cheese and Egg)
Cali’flour Traditional Plain CrustNo (Contains Cheese and Egg)
Cali’flour Traditional Spicy Jalapeño CrustNo (Contains Cheese and Egg)
Cali’flour Traditional Sweet Red Pepper CrustNo (Contains Cheese and Egg)
Cali’flour Plant-Based Italian CrustVegan
Cali’flour Plant-Based Plain CrustVegan
Cali’flour Cali’lite Italian CrustNo (Contains Cheese and Egg)
Cali’flour Cali’lite Plain CrustNo (Contains Cheese and Egg)
Is Cali’flour Foods Pizza Crust Vegan? (Source)

Is Capello’s Pizza Crust Vegan?

Capello’s Pizza Crust is not vegan, as it contains egg and honey. Here’s the full ingredients list:

Capello’s Naked Pizza Crust Ingredients:Eggs, almond flour, arrowroot flour, cassava flour, organic coconut milk (organic coconut, water, organic guar gum), coconut oil, extra virgin olive oil, psyllium husk, lemon juice, sea salt,apple cider vinegar, honey.” (source)

Is Caulipower Pizza Crust Vegan?

Caulipower Pizza Crust is not vegan, as it contains egg. Here’s the full ingredients list:

Caulipower Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Cauliflower, Brown Rice Flour, Rice Flour, Water, Corn Starch, Tapioca Starch, Sunflower Oil, Egg, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Baking Powder (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Corn Starch, Monocalcium Phosphate), Xanthan Gum, Sugar, Yeast, Vinegar, Salt.” (source)

Is Chef Boyardee Pizza Crust Vegan?

The pizza crust mix that comes with Chef Boyardee Pizza Maker packages is vegan. However, Pizza Maker packages typically also contain pizza sauce which is not vegan due to milk ingredients. Some also contain cheese or pepperoni.

Most ethical vegans would not want to buy a package that contains non-vegan pizza sauce, even if you planned to throw away the non-vegan sauce and only use the crust. However, it’s up to you. The crust mix itself from Chef Boyardee is indeed vegan. (source)

Is Deiorios Pizza Dough Vegan?

Deiorios Pizza Dough is generally considered vegan. However, be sure to buy their isolated pizza dough balls—not a full pizza kit. Full Deiorios Pizza Kits contain cheese, which is not vegan.

Here’s the full ingredients:

Deiorios Pizza Dough Ball Ingredients: “Wheat Flour Enriched (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Malted Barley Flour, Water, Yeast. Contains 2% Or Less Of: Soybean Oil, Salt, Sugar, Ascorbic Acid, Enzymes, Dry Malt, Dextrose, Olive Oil, Canola Oil.” (source)

Are DeLallo Pizza Dough Kits Vegan?

DeLallo Pizza Dough Kits are generally considered vegan. They do not contain any milk, egg, or other animal ingredients. Here’s the full ingredients:

DeLallo Pizza Dough Kit Ingredients: “Wheat Flour (Type “”00″”), Sourdough Dehydrated From Wheat Flour, Salt, Sugar, Yeast (Dried Yeast, Emulsifier), Ascorbic Acid.” (source)

Is Engine 2 Pizza Crust Vegan?

Engine 2 Pizza Crust is confirmed vegan. Engine 2 is a company that specializes in whole-food, plant-based, vegan options. This means Engine 2 crusts are also oil-free and made with whole wheat flour.

This makes Engine 2 pizza crusts some of the healthiest pre-made pizza crusts you can buy. Here’s the full ingredients:

Enging 2 Stone Baked Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Whole Wheat Flour, Water, Distilled White Vinegar, Yeast, Dehydrated Maple Syrup, Salt.” (source)

Is Flatout Pizza Crust Vegan?

Flatout Pizza Crust is generally considered vegan. It does not contain any milk, egg, or any other animal-derived ingredients. Here’s the full ingredients:

Flatout Rustic White Artisan Thin Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Wheat Gluten, Sugar, Contains 2% or Less of: Oat Fiber, Soybean Oil, Potassium Sorbate, and Sodium Propionate (Preservatives), Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Salt, Fumaric Acid, Yeast, Soy Flour.” (source)

Are Golden Home Ultra Thin Pizza Crusts Vegan?

Golden Home pizza crusts are not strictly vegan. All varieties contain whey, and most also contain honey.

That said, in most of their product, these animal ingredients make up a very small part of the recipe. So some vegans may be okay with eating Golden Home crusts anyway.

Here’s the table breaking down the different pizza crusts by Golden Home:

Pizza CrustsAre They Vegan?
Golden Home: 100% Whole Grain Pizza CrustNo (Contains Honey and Whey)
Golden Home: Ultra Thin & Ultra Crispy Pizza CrustsNo (Contains Honey and Whey)
Golden Home: Protein Pizza CrustsNo (Contains Whey)
Are Golden Home Pizza Crusts Vegan?

Here’s a sample of what the full ingredients look like, if you want to dive into the details:

Golden Home Ultra Thin 100% Whole Grain Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Whole Wheat Flour, Water, contains less than 2% of, Dextrose, Soybean Oil, Yeast, Diacetyl Tartaric Esters of Mono and Diglycerides, Wheat Gluten, Calcium Propionate (preservative), Fumaric Acid, Salt, Baking Powder, Honey, Whey, Sodium Metabisulfite, Corn Starch, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Dicalcium Phosphate.” (source)

Is Good And Gather Pizza Crust Vegan?

Good And Gather Pizza Crust is generally considered vegan. It does not contain any milk, egg, or any other animal-derived ingredients. Here’s the full ingredients:

Good & Gather Organic Ultra Thin Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Organic Wheat Flour, Water, Organic Raisin Juice Concentrate, Organic High Oleic Sunflower Oil, Contains Less Than 2% Of Each Of The Following: Dried Yeast, Organic White Distilled Vinegar, Sea Salt, Gum Blend (Xanthan Gum, Sodium Alginate, Guar Gum), Lactic Acid, Organic Soy Lecithin.” (source)

Is Great Value Pizza Crust Vegan?

Great Value Pizza Crust is generally considered vegan. Out of all 3 Great Value pizza dough products I checked—including the Pizza Crust Mix—none of them contained any milk, egg, or other animal-derived ingredients.

If you’re not familiar, Great Value is a Wal-Mart brand. So you would find this vegan pizza crust at Wal-Mart. Here are the specific products I checked:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Great Value Original Pizza Crust (14 oz – Shelf)Vegan
Great Value Pizza Crust (Refrigerated Tube – 3.8 oz)Vegan
Great Value Pizza Crust Mix (6.5 oz)Vegan
Is Great Value Pizza Dough Vegan?

Is Green Giant Cauliflower Pizza Crust Vegan?

Green Giant Cauliflower Pizza Crust is considered vegan. It does not contain any milk, egg, or any other animal-derived ingredients. Here’s the full ingredients:

Green Giant Cauliflower Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Cauliflower, Rice Flour, Corn Starch, Corn Flour, Cornmeal, Canola Oil, Salt, Black Pepper.” (source)

Is Kroger Pizza Crust Vegan?

Most Kroger pizza crust products are not vegan. The shelf-stable Original and Crispy Thin crusts both contain honey. Kroger Pizza Crust Mix contains whey (milk). However, the refrigerated tube of pizza dough I found from Kroger is fully vegan.

Here’s the full breakdown of the products I checked. To make sure you’ve got the right product, you may want to just check quickly for “Honey” or “Whey” in the ingredients list:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Kroger Original Pizza Crusts (Shelf-Stable)No (Contains Honey)
Kroger Crispy Thin Pizza Crusts (Shelf-Stable)No (Contains Honey)
Kroger Homestyle Ready-to-Bake Pizza Crust (Refrigerated Tube)Vegan
Kroger Pizza Crust MixNo (Contains Whey)
Is Kroger Pizza Dough Vegan? (Source)

Is Little Northern Bakehouse Pizza Crust Vegan?

Little Northern Bakehouse Pizza Crust is generally considered vegan. It does not contain any milk, egg, or any other animal-derived ingredients.

These pizza crusts are also gluten-free. So if you’re looking for a vegan and gluten-free pizza crust, this might be a good brand to try. I checked both varieties, Original and Thin:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Little Northern Bakehouse: Original Artisan Style Pizza CrustVegan
Little Northern Bakehouse: Thin Artisan Style Pizza CrustVegan
Is Little Northern Bakehouse Pizza Dough Vegan? (source)

Is Mama Mary’s Pizza Crust Vegan?

Most Mama Mary’s pizza crusts are vegan. The only non-vegan crusts are the Whole Grain Crust and the Flatbread Pizza Crust, as they both contain honey. All other Mama Mary’s pizza crusts are vegan.

Here’s the full breakdown of Mama Mary’s crusts to choose from. Take note that the Gluten-Free options are actually vegan, too:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Mama Mary’s: Original Gourmet CrustVegan
Mama Mary’s: Thin & Crispy Gourmet CrustVegan
Mama Mary’s: Whole Grain CrustNo (Contains Honey)
Mama Mary’s: Gluten Free Pizza CrustVegan
Mama Mary’s: Gluten Free Thin CrustVegan
Mama Mary’s: Flatbread Pizza CrustNo (Contains Honey)
Mama Mary’s: Cucina Di Casa: Tuscan Pizza CrustVegan
Mama Mary’s: Cucina Di Casa: Ancient Grains Pizza CrustVegan
Is Mama Mary’s Pizza Dough Vegan? (source)

Is Market Pantry Pizza Crust Vegan?

Market Pantry Pizza Crust is generally considered vegan. All three varieties I could find were free of any milk, eggs, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients.

If you’re not familiar, Market Pantry is a Target brand. So you would find this vegan pizza crust at Target. Here are the varieties I was able to specifically check:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Market Pantry: Original Pizza CrustVegan
Market Pantry: Fire Roasted Pizza CrustsVegan
Market Pantry: Mini Pizza CrustsVegan
Is Market Pantry Pizza Dough Vegan?

Is Mauk Family Farms Raw Pizza Crust Vegan?

Mauk Family Farms Raw Crust is confirmed vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients. It’s worth noting that this is another, less conventional gluten-free vegan crust option.

As a raw crust, this is quite a different product from the other crusts I checked! Take a look at the full ingredients:

Mauk Family Farms Organic Raw Crust Ingredients: “Sesame Seed*, Sunflower Seed*, Golden Flaxseed*, Brown Flaxseed*, Sea Salt*, Garlic*, Onion*, Celery*, Red Bell Pepper*, Parsley*, Purified Water.” (* = Organic) (source)

Is Mia Pizza Crust Vegan?

Mia Pizza Crust and Rustica Pizza Crust are both considered vegan. All four varieties I could find were free of all milk, eggs, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients.

It’s worth noting that even the Mia Pizza Kits are vegan, as they contain vegan sauce and no cheese. Here are the products I was able to specifically check:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Rustica: Stone Baked, Oven Fired CrustsVegan
Mia: Oven Fired, Stone Baked Original Pizza CrustsVegan
Mia: Original Italian Pizza Crust & Sauce KitsVegan
Take & Bake Pizza CrustsVegan
Is Mia Pizza Dough Vegan? (Source)

Is Midtown Pizza Co. Crust Vegan? (H-E-B)

Midtown Pizza Co. Crust is considered vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients.

This is a frozen pizza crust, and the ingredients are a lot more minimal compared to the shelf-stable options. Here’s the full ingredients:

Midtown Pizza Co. (by H‑E‑B) Italian Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Wheat Flour, Water, Salt, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Yeast.” (source)

Is Molinaro’s Pizza Crust Vegan?

Most Molinaro pizza crusts are vegan. Their cauliflower crust and gluten-free zucchini crust both contain cheese in the actual crust—but all the other varieties I could find and check were fully vegan.

Keep in mind, these are usually sold as part of “Pizza Kits.” Fortunately, the pizza sauce sold in these packets is vegan. So the packages that come with vegan crusts are fully vegan:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Molinaro’s Thin Crust Pizza KitVegan
Molinaro’s Supremo Deep Dish Pizza Starter KitVegan
Molinaro’s Organic Stone Baked Pizza KitVegan
Molinaro’s Hand Stretched Pizza KitVegan
Molinaro’s Cauliflower Pizza KitNo (Contains Cheese)
Molinaro’s Gluten-Free Zucchini Pizza KitNo (Contains Cheese)
Is Molinaro’s Pizza Dough Vegan?

Is Namaste Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix Vegan?

Namaste Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix is considered vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients. This is another gluten-free option. Here’s the full ingredients:

Namaste Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix Ingredients: “Brown rice flour, tapioca starch, arrowroot powder, cream of tartar, xanthan gum, salt, baking soda, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, citric acid, rosemary, thyme, basil, parsley, sage and marjoram.” (source)

Is Outer Aisle Pizza Crust Vegan?

Outer Aisle Pizza Crust is not vegan, as it contains eggs and parmesan cheese. Here’s the full ingredients:

Outer Aisle Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Cauliflower, Eggs, Parmesan Cheese, Nutritional Yeast.” (source)

Is Pastorelli Pizza Crust Vegan?

Pastorelli pizza crust is not vegan. Pastorelli Whole Wheat and Traditional crusts both contain whey, which is a milk ingredient. Here are the exact products in question:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Pastorelli Ultra Thin Whole Wheat Pizza CrustNo (Contains Whey)
Pastorelli Ultra Thin Traditional Pizza CrustNo (Contains Whey)
Is Pastorelli Pizza Dough Vegan? (Source)

Is Pillsbury Pizza Dough Vegan?

Pillsbury Pizza Dough is generally considered vegan. Both the Classic and Thin Crust varieties are free of milk, eggs, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients.

Here are the Pillsbury crusts I was able to specifically check:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Pillsbury Classic Pizza CrustVegan
Pillsbury Thin Pizza CrustVegan
Is Pillsbury Pizza Crust Vegan? (Source)

Here’s the full ingredients for the Classic crust, as an example:

Pillsbury Classic Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Enriched Flour Bleached (wheat flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), Water, Dextrose, Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean And/or Cottonseed Oil*. Contains 2% or less of: Vital Wheat Gluten, Leavening (glucono delta-lactone, baking soda), Salt, Mono and Diglycerides, Xanthan Gum.” (source)

Is Pizza Buddy Dough Vegan?

Pizza Buddy Dough is considered vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients. This brand typically comes as a 16-ounce ball of dough in a bag. Here’s the full ingredients:

Pizza Buddy Dough Ingredients: “Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Unbleached, Unbromated, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid, Enzymes), Water, Yeast, Salt, Soybean/Canola Oil, Cane Sugar.” (source)

Is Publix Pizza Dough Vegan?

Publix pizza dough is generally considered vegan. It doesn’t contain any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients. Here are the specific products I was able to check:

Pizza DoughIs It Vegan?
Publix Italian Pizza Dough (Ball or Rolled)Vegan
Publix Everything Pizza DoughVegan
Is Publix Pizza Dough Vegan? (Source)

Is Rhodes Pizza Dough Vegan?

Rhodes Pizza Dough is confirmed vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients. Here’s the full ingredients:

Rhodes Pizza Dough Ingredients: “Unbleached enriched white flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate or reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, yeast, salt, deactivated yeast, soybean and/or canola oil, granulated sugar, sodium stearoyl lactylate, yeast nutrients (calcium sulfate, ammonium chloride), ascorbic acid, enzyme (added for improved baking).” (source)

Is Rustic Crust Pizza Crust Vegan?

Most Rustic Crust pizza crusts are vegan. The Cheesy Herb and Italian Herb flavors contain dairy, and the Crispy Italian Thin Crust contains honey—but all the other flavors are vegan.

Here are all the specific products I was able to check:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Rustic Crust: CauliflowerVegan
Rustic Crust: The Big SliceVegan
Rustic Crust: Old World Flatbreads: Cheesy HerbNo (Contains Cheese and Butter)
Rustic Crust: Old World Flatbreads: Italian HerbNo (Contains Butter)
Rustic Crust: Old World Flatbreads: Tuscan Six GrainVegan
Rustic Crust: Old World Flatbreads: Classic SourdoughVegan
Rustic Crust: Old World Flatbreads: Crispy Italian Thin CrustNo (Contains Honey)
Rustic Crust: Organic Old World Flatbreads: Pizza OriginaleVegan
Is Rustic Crust Pizza Crust Vegan? (Source)

Is Signature Select Pizza Crust Vegan? (Safeway)

Signature Select Pizza Crust is generally considered vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients.

I should specify that I’m referring here to the refrigerated tube of pizza dough pictured here (13.8 ounces). I believe Signature Select also has a shelf-stable crust, and I struggled to find an ingredients list for it.

Here’s the full ingredients for the refrigerated product:

Signature Select Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Enriched Bleached Flour [Wheat Flour, Niacin, Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid], Water, Dextrose, Vegetable Oil (Palm, Soybean and/or Cottonseed Oils), Leavening (Glucono Delta-Lactone, Baking Soda), Sugar, Contains 2% or Less of Each of the Following: Wheat Gluten, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Ascorbic Acid.” (source)

Is Schar Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Vegan?

Schar Gluten-Free Pizza Crust is considered vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients. Here are the full ingredients:

Schar Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Ingredients: Corn Starch, Rice Flour, Sourdough (Rice Flour, Water), Water, Potato Starch, Rice Starch, Corn Flour, Corn Syrup, Yeast, Modified Cellulose, Dextrose, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Sunflower Oil, Psyllium Seed Husks (Vegetable Fiber), Iodized Salt, Ethyl Alcohol, Soy Protein, Raising Agents: Glucono Delta-Lactone; Baking Soda, Tartaric Acid, Citric Acid. (source)

Is Simple Truth Organic Pizza Crust Vegan?

The pre-made Simple Truth Organic Pizza Crust is confirmed vegan. However, be careful: The Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix from Simple Truth Organic is not vegan, as it contains honey.

Here are the specific products I was able to check:

Pizza DoughIs It Vegan?
Simple Truth Organic: Classic Thin & Crispy Vegan Pizza CrustVegan
Simple Truth Organic: Gluten Free Pizza Crust MixNo (Contains Honey)
Is Simple Truth Organic Pizza Crust Vegan?

Is Simply Balanced Pizza Crust Vegan?

Simply Balanced Organic Thin And Crispy Pizza Crust is considered vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients.

However, take note: Simply Balanced also makes a gluten-free pizza crust, and possibly other varieties, which I was not able to find ingredients for. So I can only confirm that the Thin and Crispy crust is vegan at this time.

Here are the full ingredients for that one crust I was able to find:

Simply Balanced Organic Thin And Crispy Pizza Crust Ingredients: “Organic Wheat Flour, Water, Organic Raisin Juice Concentrate, Organic Expeller Pressed High Oleic Sunflower Oil, Contains Less Than 2% Of Each Of The Following: Yeast, Organic White Distilled Vinegar, Organic Oat Flour, Sea Salt, Lactic Acid, Organic Soy Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Alginate, Guar Gum, Ascorbic Acid (Dough Conditioner), Enzymes.” (source)

Is Sutter Buttes Pizza Crust Vegan?

Sutter Buttes Pizza Crust is generally considered vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, or other animal-derived ingredients. It is typically sold as a “Pizza Crust Baking Kit” along with some olive oil, but there’s no cheese or anything sketchy like that.

Here are the full ingredients:

Sutter Buttes Classic Italian Pizza Crust Baking Kit Ingredients: Unbleached Flour, Bleached Flour, Granulated Sugar, Sea Salt, Active Dry Yeast. Olive Oil. (source)

Is Tiseo Frozen Pizza Dough Vegan?

Tiseo Frozen Pizza Dough is generally considered vegan. It doesn’t have any milk, egg, honey, or other animal-derived ingredients. Here are the full ingredients:

Tiseo Frozen Pizza Dough Ingredients: “Wheat Flour Enriched (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Sugar, Yeast, Soybean Oil, Salt.” (source)

Is Trader Joe’s Pizza Crust Vegan?

Most Trader Joe’s pizza crusts are vegan. Their gluten-free crust contains milk and their sprouted crust contains honey—but all other varieties I could find and check were fully vegan.

I had to utilize a mix of different websites to find the ingredients for these Trader Joe’s crusts, so it’s possible that one or more are outdated. Be sure to double-check the ingredients yourself in the store if you want to be certain. But here’s what I found:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Trader Joe’s Pizza Dough (Plain)Vegan
Trader Joe’s Pizza Dough (Garlic & Herb)Vegan
Trader Joe’s Pizza Dough (Wheat)Vegan
Trader Joe’s Pizza Dough (Gluten-Free)No (Contains Milk)
Trader Joe’s Sprouted Whole Grain Pizza CrustNo (Contains Honey)
Trader Joe’s Cauliflower Pizza CrustVegan
Trader Giotto’s Pizza CrustVegan
Is Trader Joe’s Pizza Dough Vegan?

Is Udi’s Pizza Crust Vegan?

Udi’s Pizza Crust is not vegan, as it contains egg. This disappointing, as many other gluten-free pizza crusts manage to be vegan—the egg can’t really be necessary. Here’s the full ingredients for the Udi’s crust:

Udi’s Pizza Crust Ingredients: Water, tapioca starch, brown rice flour, canola oil, egg whites, cane syrup, tapioca syrup, tapioca maltodexin, salt, xanthan gum yeast, cultured corn syrup solids, corn syrup solids, citric acid (mold inhibitor), enzymes. (source)

Is Venice Bakery Pizza Crust Vegan?

Some Venice Bakery Pizza Crusts are vegan, but others are not. The pattern I found is that their “Gluten-Free” crusts are not vegan, but their “Vegan” crusts are. Here’s the full breakdown of the flavors I was able to check:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Gluten Free Beet RootNo (Contains Cheese and Egg)
Gluten Free Sweet PotatoNo (Contains Cheese and Egg)
Gluten Free ZucchiniNo (Contains Cheese and Egg)
Vegan CauliflowerVegan
Vegan Seasoned CauliflowerVegan
Is Venice Bakery Pizza Dough Vegan? (source)

Is Wegmans Pizza Crust Vegan?

Most Wegmans pizza crusts are vegan. Their gluten-free crust contains milk, egg, and honey, and their naan pizza contains milk and egg—but all other varieties I could find and check were fully vegan.

I had to utilize a mix of different websites to find the ingredients for these Wegmans crusts, so it’s possible that one or more ingredients lists were outdated. Be sure to check the ingredients yourself in the store if you want to be certain.

Here’s what I found:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Wegmans White Pizza CrustVegan
Wegmans Sprouted Grain Pizza CrustVegan
Wegmans Gluten Free Pizza CrustNo (Contains Milk, Egg, Honey)
Wegmans Thin, Crispy Cauliflower Pizza CrustVegan
Wegmans Ready To Cook Naan PizzaNo (Contains Milk, Egg)
Wegmans Ready to Cook Thin White Pizza CrustVegan
Wegmans Organic Pizza Dough (White)Vegan
Wegmans Pizza Dough (White)Vegan
Wegmans Pizza Dough (Whole Wheat)Vegan
Is Wegmans Pizza Dough Vegan?

Is Wewalka Pizza Crust Vegan?

Wewalka pizza crust is not vegan, as it contains nonfat dry milk. This applies to both their Classic Pizza Dough and their Bistro Pizza Dough products:

Pizza CrustIs It Vegan?
Wewalka Classic Pizza DoughNo (Contains Milk)
Wewalka Bistro Pizza DoughNo (Contains Milk)
Is Wewalka Pizza Dough Vegan? (Source)

Is Wholly Wholesome Pizza Dough Vegan?

Wholly Wholesome Pizza Dough and Crust are considered vegan. These are also gluten-free. It comes in the dough ball version and the pre-cooked crust version. Here’s the ingredients for both:

Wholly Wholesome Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Ingredients: “water, white rice flour, potato starch, organic palm fruit shortening*, tapioca starch, cellulose fiber, yeast, psyllium husk powder, organic evaporated cane juice, golden flax seed, sea salt, guar gum.” (source)

Is Wrawp Pizza Crust Vegan?

Wrawp Pizza Crust is considered vegan. It’s made primarily of raw vegetables, and it doesn’t contain any milk, egg, honey, and other animal-derived ingredients.

This crust is another one for raw vegans, similar to the Mauk Family Farms crust mentioned above. Here are the specific flavors of Wrawp crust I was able to check:

Pizza CrustIs it Vegan?
Wrawp Pizza Crust: OriginalVegan
Wrawp Pizza Crust: TomatoVegan
Wrawp Pizza Crust: SpirulinaVegan
Is Wrawp Pizza Crust Vegan? (Source)

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.