List of Vegan Pasta Sauce Brands [182 Products Checked]

If you’re wondering about vegan options for store-bought pasta sauce, you’re in the right place. I read the ingredients for 182 pasta sauces to create this post. I used my 13 years of vegan experience to assess which ones are vegan… And I have good news.

Is Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Pasta sauce is usually vegan. Out of 182 pasta sauce products I checked, 134 were vegan (74%). The most common non-vegan ingredient in pasta sauce is cheese. Other non-vegan ingredients include beef, pork, and egg.

When it came to the most popular brands of pasta sauce—Prego, Ragu, Classico, and others—most of their sauces are vegan. However, they each have at least a few non-vegan sauces, too. See the full lists below for details.

Does Pasta Sauce Contain Dairy?

Less than half of the pasta sauce options available today contain dairy. In fact, out of the 182 pasta sauce products I checked, only 19% contained dairy. But that count excludes alfredo sauce and other obvious “cheese sauces.”

Usually, dairy will appear in the form of cheese. However, be alert for butter and other milk ingredients, too. Dairy is by far the most common animal ingredient in pasta, so be sure to at least check for a milk allergen warning at the end of the ingredients list quickly.

[For tips on how to read ingredients lists as a vegan, check out my guide to reading labels here.]

Does Pasta Sauce Contain Meat?

Most store-bought pasta sauce does not contain meat. Out of the 182 pasta sauce products I checked, only 16 of them contained meat (9%). The most common meat ingredient was beef, followed by pork (usually as Italian sausage) and bacon.

My understanding is that a lot of people buy meat separately and add it to their pasta sauce at home. So just because most store-bought sauces don’t contain meat, that doesn’t mean the majority of people have their pasta without meat.

Does Pasta Sauce Contain Eggs?

Most pasta sauce does not contain eggs. Out of the 182 pasta sauce products I checked, only 5 of them contained eggs (3%). Eggs only appeared in pasta sauces that also contained milk ingredients.

Why would pasta sauce contain egg? Well, at least one of the sauces contained “egg lysozyme” as a preservative for the cheese. However, egg yolk is also used in some “creamy” pasta sauces along with cheese.

Which Brands of Pasta Sauce Are Vegan?

Alright—let’s dive into some of the leading brands of pasta sauce and check which of their products are vegan. Keep in mind: This is not a “full list” of vegan brands. It’s just a bunch of the easiest brands to actually find in stores.

Click any brand to skip to it:

Note: Product ingredients change and may vary by location around the world. I recommend double checking any product before assuming it’s still vegan.

Is Barilla Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Barilla Pasta Sauce are vegan. Out of the seven products I checked, only two contained milk. The other five are vegan.

I didn’t include their pesto in this count, as I covered pesto in a separate blog post on vegan pesto brands.

Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Barilla Fire Roasted MarinaraVegan
Barilla MarinaraVegan
Barilla Roasted GarlicVegan
Barilla Tomato & BasilVegan
Barilla TraditionalVegan
Barilla Parmesan And PecorinoNo (Contains Milk)
Barilla Savory HerbNo (Contains Milk)
Is Barilla Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Bertolli Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Bertolli pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the twenty-two products I checked, only seven contained milk or other animal ingredients. The other fifteen are vegan.

Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Bertolli d’Italia Marinara SauceVegan
Bertolli Traditional Marinara w/ Italian Herbs & Fresh GarlicVegan
Bertolli Tomato & Basil SauceVegan
Bertolli Olive Oil & Garlic SauceVegan
Bertolli Vineyard Marinara with Merlot Wine SauceVegan
Bertolli Portobello Mushroom SauceVegan
Bertolli Organic Marinara SauceVegan
Bertolli Organic Fire Roasted Garlic Marinara SauceVegan
Bertolli Organic Olive Oil, Basil & Garlic SauceVegan
Bertolli Organic Traditional Tomato & Basil SauceVegan
Bertolli Rustic Cut Marinara w/ Traditional VegetablesVegan
Bertolli Rustic Cut Roasted Garlic Marinara w/ Garden VegVegan
Bertolli Rustic Cut Sweet Peppers & Portobello MushroomVegan
Bertolli Rustic Cut Spicy Marinara w/ Traditional VegetablesVegan
Bertolli Rustic Cut Three Cheese (Asiago, Romano, & Parm)No (Contains Milk)
Bertolli Parmesan & Romano w/ Cracked Black PepperNo (Contains Milk)
Bertolli d’Italia Creamy Rosa SauceNo (Contains Milk, Egg)
Bertolli Five Cheese Sauce: Ricotta, Romano & ParmesanNo (Contains Milk)
Bertolli Vodka SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Bertolli Italian Sausage w/ Garlic & Romano SauceNo (Contains Pork, Beef, Milk)
Bertolli Organic Five Cheese SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Is Bertolli Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Classico Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Classico pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the twenty products I checked, only eight contained milk or meat. The other twelve are vegan.

I didn’t bother checking any of Classico’s alfredo sauces, as they all obviously contain dairy. I also didn’t check their pesto products, as I covered pesto in a separate blog post on vegan pesto brands.

Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Classico Caramelized Onion & Roasted Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Fire Roasted Tomato & Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Roasted Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Tomato & Basil Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Marinara Pasta Sauce With Plum Tomatoes & Olive OilVegan
Classico Spicy Red Pepper Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Traditional Sweet Basil Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Spicy Tomato & Basil Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Family Favorites Traditional Smooth & Rich Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Riserva Spicy Arrabbiata Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Riserva Roasted Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Riserva Vine Ripened Tomato Marinara Pasta SauceVegan
Classico Four Cheese Tomato Cream Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Classico Four Cheese Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Classico Vodka Sauce Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Classico Florentine Spinach & Cheese Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Classico Italian Sausage Pasta Sauce With Peppers & OnionsNo (Contains Pork)
Classico Portobello, Crimini & Champignon Mushroom Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Classico Family Favorites Parmesan & Romano Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Classico Family Favorites Meat Smooth & Rich SauceNo (Contains Beef)

Is Dolmio Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Dolmio pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the eighteen products I checked, only three contained milk or eggs. The other fifteen are vegan.

If you’re not familiar with Dolmio, it’s an Australian brand of pasta sauce. Personally, I’ve never had Dolmio here in the U.S. But I know it’s a very popular brand in Australia—and maybe elsewhere around the world—so I wanted to cover it.

Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Dolmio Nonna’s Pasta Sauce – BologneseVegan
Dolmio Nonna’s Pasta Sauce – Roast GarlicVegan
Dolmio Nonna’s Pasta Sauce – Chargrilled CapsicumVegan
Dolmio Extra Bolognese Tomato Pasta SauceVegan
Dolmio Extra Tomato, Onion & Roast Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Dolmio Extra Red Wine & Herbs Tomato Pasta SauceVegan
Dolmio Extra Spicy Peppers Tomato Pasta SauceVegan
Dolmio Extra Garden Vegetables Tomato Pasta SauceVegan
Dolmio Extra Italian Herbs Tomato Pasta SauceVegan
Dolmio Extra Tomato, Onion & Roast Garlic (Reduced Salt)Vegan
Dolmio Extra Garlic Tomato Pasta SauceVegan
Dolmio Extra Mushroom Tomato Pasta SauceVegan
Dolmio Traditional Recipe Classic Tomato with BasilVegan
Dolmio Traditional Recipe Classic Tomato Pasta SauceVegan
Dolmio Traditional Recipe Classic Tomato with OreganoVegan
Dolmio Four Cheese Tomato Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Domio Creamy Carbonara Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk, Egg)
Dolmio Creamy Mushroom Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk, Egg)
Is Dolmio Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Great Value Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Great Value pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the seven products I checked, only two contained milk or meat. The other five are vegan.

Great Value is the Walmart store brand. So you’d find these sauces at Walmart. Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Great Value Traditional Pasta SauceVegan
Great Value Tomato Basil Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Great Value Marinara Pasta SauceVegan
Great Value Organic Roasted Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Great Value Organic Tomato Basil Pasta SauceVegan
Great Value Organic Marinara Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Great Value Flavored with Meat Pasta SauceNo (Contains Beef)
Is Great Value Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Hunt’s Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Hunt’s pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the twelve products I checked, only four contained milk or meat. The other eight are vegan.

Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: MushroomVegan
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: Garlic And HerbVegan
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: Roasted Garlic And OnionVegan
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: Zesty And SpicyVegan
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: Chunky VegetableVegan
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: No Added SugarVegan
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: TraditionalVegan
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: Tomato BasilVegan
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: MeatNo (Contains Beef)
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: Italian SausageNo (Contains Pork)
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: Four CheeseNo (Contains Milk)
Hunt’s Pasta Sauce: Cheese And GarlicNo (Contains Milk)
Is Hunt’s Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Leggo’s Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Leggo’s pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the twenty-two products I checked, only four contained milk or other animal ingredients. The other seventeen are vegan.

Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Leggo’s Bolognese w/ Chunky Tomato, Garlic & HerbsVegan
Leggo’s Bolognese w/ Red Wine, Chunky Tomato & HerbsVegan
Leggo’s Napoletana w/ Chunky Tomato & HerbsVegan
Leggo’s Bolognese w/ Mushroom, Chunky Tomato & HerbsVegan
Leggo’s Roasted Garlic w/ Chunky Tomato & OnionVegan
Leggo’s Garden Veg w/ Carrot, Capsicum, Tomato & ZucchiniVegan
Leggo’s Bolognese w/ Chunky Tomato, Garlic & HerbsVegan
Leggo’s Classic Tomato w/ Chunky Tomato & HerbsVegan
Leggo’s Marinara w/ White Wine, Chunky Tomato & GarlicVegan
Leggo’s Organic Tomato and BasilVegan
Leggo’s Organic Tomato and GarlicVegan
Leggo’s Organic Tomato and VeggiesVegan
Leggo’s Stir Through: Sundried Tomato & Roasted GarlicVegan
Leggo’s Stir Through: Roasted VegetablesVegan
Leggo’s Stir Through: Tomato, Roasted Garlic & Caramelised…Vegan
Leggo’s Stir Through: Tomato, Olive & ChilliVegan
Leggo’s Stir Through: MediterraneanVegan
Leggo’s Stir Through: Semi-Dried Tomato, Basil & ParmesanNo (Contains Milk)
Leggo’s Bolognese w/ Bacon, Chunky Tomato & HerbsNo (Contains Bacon)
Leggo’s Carbonara w/ Fresh Cream, Onion & CheeseNo (Contains Milk, Egg)
Leggo’s Spaghetti Sauce with Australian BeefNo (Contains Beef)
Is Leggo’s Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Muir Glen Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Muir Glen pasta sauce is vegan. None of the eight flavors contain any milk, meat, egg, or other animal ingredients. This is also a great brand to check out for organic options.

Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Muir Glen Chunky Tomato & Herb Pasta SauceVegan
Muir Glen Classic Marinara Pasta SauceVegan
Muir Glen Fire Roasted Tomato Pasta SauceVegan
Muir Glen Garden Vegetable Pasta SauceVegan
Muir Glen Italian Herb Pasta SauceVegan
Muir Glen Portabella Mushroom Pasta SauceVegan
Muir Glen Roasted Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Muir Glen Tomato Basil Pasta SauceVegan
Is Muir Glen Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Newman’s Own Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Newman’s Own pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the ten products I checked, only two contained milk or meat. The other eight are vegan.

For this count, I didn’t bother looking at or including their alfredo sauces. Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Newman’s Own: Fire Roasted Tomato & Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Newman’s Own: Marinara Pasta SauceVegan
Newman’s Own: Organic Marinara Pasta SauceVegan
Newman’s Own: Organic Olive Oil, Basil & Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Newman’s Own: Organic Tomato & Basil Pasta SauceVegan
Newman’s Own: Roasted Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Newman’s Own: Sockarooni Pasta SauceVegan
Newman’s Own: Tomato & Basil Bombolina Pasta SauceVegan
Newman’s Own: Italian Sausage & Peppers Pasta SauceNo (Contains Pork)
Newman’s Own: Vodka Pasta SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Is Newman’s Own Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Prego Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Prego pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the twenty-eight products I checked, only eight contained milk or meat. The other twenty are vegan.

Prego also specifically offers a few products containing “meatless meat” and added plant protein (soy protein and pea protein). This is rare!

I didn’t bother checking any of their alfredo sauces, as they all would obviously contain dairy. I also didn’t check their pesto products, as I covered pesto in a separate blog post on vegan pesto brands.

Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Prego Traditional SauceVegan
Prego Fresh Mushroom SauceVegan
Prego Garden Chunky Combo SauceVegan
Prego Chunky Tomato, Onion & Garlic SauceVegan
Prego Lower Sodium Traditional SauceVegan
Prego Chunky Garden Mushroom & Green Pepper SauceVegan
Prego Marinara SauceVegan
Prego Roasted Garlic & Herb SauceVegan
Prego Tomato Basil Garlic SauceVegan
Prego Light Smart Traditional SauceVegan
Prego No Sugar Added Traditional SauceVegan
Prego Sensitive Recipe Traditional SauceVegan
Prego Farmers’ Market Classic Marinara SauceVegan
Prego Farmers’ Market Roasted Garlic SauceVegan
Prego Farmers’ Market Tomato Basil SauceVegan
Prego+ Plant Protein Traditional SauceVegan
Prego+ Plant Protein Meatless Meat SauceVegan
Prego+ Plant Protein with Roasted Garlic & Herb SauceVegan
Prego+ Hidden Super Veggies with Roasted Garlic & Herb SauceVegan
Prego+ Hidden Super Veggies Traditional SauceVegan
Prego Italian Sauce Flavored with Meat SauceNo (Contains Beef)
Prego Three Cheese SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Prego Mini-Meatball SauceNo (Contains Beef, Pork)
Prego Italian Sausage & Garlic SauceNo (Contains Pork)
Prego Roasted Garlic Parmesan SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Prego Creamy Vodka SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Prego Farmers’ Market Four Cheese SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Prego+ Hidden Super Veggies Flavored with Meat SauceNo (Contains Beef)
Is Prego Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Ragu Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Ragu pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the eighteen products I checked, only four contained milk, egg, or meat. The other fourteen are vegan.

I’m pretty sure Ragu used to be less vegan-friendly. I remember when I first went vegan, I checked all their sauces in a grocery store once, and most contained cheese. Now, most of them are dairy-free!

Note that, in the list below, I didn’t bother checking any of their “Cheese sauce” products—like their alfredo—I would just assume they all contain dairy.

Here is the full breakdown of Ragu pasta sauces I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Ragú Simply: Roasted Garlic Pasta SauceVegan
Ragú Simply: Chunky Garden Vegetable Pasta SauceVegan
Ragú Simply: Chunky Marinara Pasta SauceVegan
Ragú Simply: Traditional Pasta SauceVegan
Ragú Old World Style: Mushroom SauceVegan
Ragú Old World Style: Marinara SauceVegan
Ragú Old World Style: Traditional SauceVegan
Ragú Chunky: Super Chunky Mushroom SauceVegan
Ragú Chunky: Mushroom & Green Pepper SauceVegan
Ragú Chunky: Tomato, Garlic & Onion SauceVegan
Ragú Chunky: Garden Combination SauceVegan
Ragú Chunky: Sautéed Onion & Garlic SauceVegan
Ragú Chunky: Roasted Garlic SauceVegan
Ragú Chunky: Hearty Traditional SauceVegan
Ragú Old World Style: Meat SauceNo (Contains Beef)
Ragú Chunky: Six Cheese SauceNo (Contains Milk, Egg)
Ragú Chunky: Parmesan & Romano SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Ragú Chunky: Mama’s Special Garden SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Is Ragú Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Is Rao’s Pasta Sauce Vegan?

Most flavors of Rao’s pasta sauce are vegan. Out of the eleven products I checked, only seven contained milk or meat. The other seven are vegan.

Again, I did not include Rao’s pesto, alfredo sauce, or pizza sauce in this count (or in the table below), for the same reason as for other brands.

Here’s the full list of products I checked, with vegan options at the top:

Pasta SauceIs It Vegan?
Rao’s Homemade Marinara SauceVegan
Rao’s Homemade Tomato Basil SauceVegan
Rao’s Homemade Arrabbiata SauceVegan
Rao’s Homemade Sensitive Marinara SauceVegan
Rao’s Homemade Roasted Garlic SauceVegan
Rao’s Homemade Mushroom & Bell Pepper SauceVegan
Rao’s Homemade Tomato Herb SauceVegan
Rao’s Homemade Bolognese SauceNo (Contains Beef, Pork, Milk)
Rao’s Homemade Four Cheese SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Rao’s Homemade Vodka SauceNo (Contains Milk)
Rao’s Homemade Italian Sausage & MushroomNo (Contains Pork)
Is Rao’s Pasta Sauce Vegan? (Source)

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.

Sharing is caring!