Vegan Frosting Brands: Full List [88 Products Checked]

As a young vegan, I used to buy frosting from the store and just dip Ritz crackers in it. In recent years, I’ve cleaned up my diet quite a bit… But frosting still has a special place in my heart. And it’s amazing that most people don’t realize how often it’s vegan.

For this blog post, I decided to do some original research. I went and checked the ingredients for 88 store-bought frosting products—just to see how many are vegan. Can you guess the results?

Is Frosting Vegan?

My study showed that most store-bought frosting is vegan. Out of 88 frosting products checked, 58 products (66%) were vegan. The most common animal ingredients found were dairy and confectioner’s glaze (in Funfetti frosting). One frosting product also contained egg.

These results would probably surprise a lot of people! In fact, while doing some preliminary research for this post, I found a blog post that specifically said most store-bought frosting contains butter. However, that is decisively not true. And I’ll prove it!

Does Frosting Have Dairy?

Most store-bought frosting does not contain dairy. Out of 88 frosting products I checked, only 10 products (11%) contained dairy ingredients. Usually, the specific dairy ingredients were nonfat dry milk or cream.

This was a very interesting result because most people assume that frosting contains butter. But while it is common for homemade frosting to contain butter, it is not common at all for store-bought frosting to have butter.

There are even multiple examples I found of store-bought frosting products with flavor names like “Milk Chocolate” and “Butter Cream” that are actually dairy-free and vegan (!).

In fact, the following frostings are all (surprisingly) vegan and dairy-free, despite their names:

  • Betty Crocker Rich & Creamy Frosting: Milk Chocolate
  • Betty Crocker Whipped Frosting: Butter Cream
  • Betty Crocker Whipped Frosting: Cream Cheese
  • Betty Crocker Whipped Frosting: Whipped Cream
  • Duncan Hines Creamy Cream Cheese Frosting
  • Duncan Hines Creamy Buttercream Frosting
  • Miss Jones Cream Cheese Frosting
  • Pillsbury Creamy Supreme Buttercream Flavored Frosting
  • Pillsbury Creamy Supreme Cream Cheese Flavored Frosting
  • Pillsbury Creamy Supreme Milk Chocolate Frosting

Note: I’m not saying that all “Milk Chocolate” or “Buttercream” frostings are vegan. Certainly, a few of them actually do contain dairy. Check the full tables below for details.

Does Frosting Have Eggs?

Store-bought frosting rarely contains eggs. Out of 88 frosting products I checked, only 1 contained eggs: Betty Crocker’s Coconut Pecan Rich & Creamy Frosting. It is much more common for frosting to contain dairy or the insect-based “confectioner’s glaze,” rather than eggs.

Does Frosting Have Gelatin?

Store-bought frosting does not typically contain gelatin. Out of 88 frosting products I checked, none contained gelatin.

What Is Confectioner’s Glaze?

The animal ingredient that showed up a lot more than expected in my research was confectioner’s glaze. This ingredient is sometimes called “shellac” or “lac resin” instead. It’s actually a product made by lac beetles. So it’s an insect product.

Confectioner’s glaze is typically used as a coating on pills or candies. And unfortunately, it’s found on the “Candy Bits” in many of the Pillsbury Funfetti flavors. Note that not all Funfetti flavors have confectioner’s glaze—but most do. See the full list below.

“Gray-Area” Ingredients in Frosting

Personally, I only really worry about the dairy, eggs, and confectioner’s glaze in frosting as a vegan. However, some vegans have a more strict view than I do. So I wanted to address some of the “iffy” ingredients found in frosting, too:

  • Sugar: Non-organic cane sugar is often filtered through animal bone char to make it whiter. We don’t know from ingredient labels whether the sugar in a particular brand of frosting was filtered with bone char or not. If this concerns you, choose Miss Jones or Simple Mills frosting. Miss Jones is confirmed vegan by the company, and Simple Mills uses organic sugar.
  • Palm Oil: Palm oil doesn’t contain animal ingredients, but it is sometimes harvested in an unsustainable way, destroying the habitat of orangutans and other animals. However, it seems that efforts like the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) have made significant progress in this area in recent years.
  • Artificial Colors: These are made from petroleum, not animals. However, due to ongoing safety concerns, artificial color dyes are still being tested on animals on an ongoing basis. I wrote more about this in my blog posts on Red 40, Red 3, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1, and Blue 2.

And if you wanted to get even pickier, you’ll also find ingredients like mono- and diglycerides, which the Vegetarian Resource Group (VRG) reports as being “Typically Vegan” (but not always).

My view with all these ingredients is that boycotting them will not do much to help the animals, but it will make veganism much harder. So my advice for new vegans is to just focus on the main ingredients that we know are animal based. Cut those out, and call it good.

If you want to do more for animals after cutting out the main animal ingredients, then I recommend donating or volunteering with a vegan org such as Vegan Outreach. That will make a bigger impact than obsessing over tiny ingredients that are only possibly tied to animals.

For a longer explanation of my view on this issue, see my blog post on why I don’t worry about the vitamin D3 in cereal.

What Is Vegan Frosting Made Of?

Some people are confused about what vegan frosting would contain. If not butter, then what makes it so creamy and good?

Store-bought vegan frosting is typically made primarily of sugar, palm oil, and corn syrup. Homemade vegan frosting is often made with sugar and vegan butter, margarine, or vegetable oil.

Really, frosting is mainly going to be sugar and fat. And the majority of the calories usually come from the sugar, rather than the fat. So really, the top ingredient in most frosting is sugar or some form of sweetener.

Which Store-Bought Frosting Is Vegan?

To make sure this post was based on real-life data, I checked 88 store-bought frosting products to see which ones were vegan. Here are the full findings for each of the brands:

Is Betty Crocker Frosting Vegan?

About 68% of Betty Crocker frosting products are vegan. Specifically, 13 are vegan and 6 are not. There is no simple delineation of which Betty Crocker frostings are vegan. It just depends on the individual flavor.

Here is the full breakdown of which flavors of Betty Crocker frosting are vegan:

FrostingIs It Vegan?
Rich & Creamy Frosting: CherryVegan
Rich & Creamy Frosting: ChocolateNo (Contains Milk)
Rich & Creamy Frosting: Coconut PecanNo (Contains Milk, Egg)
Rich & Creamy Frosting: Cream CheeseNo (Contains Milk)
Rich & Creamy Frosting: Creamy WhiteVegan
Rich & Creamy Frosting: Dark ChocolateVegan
Rich & Creamy Frosting: LemonVegan
Rich & Creamy Frosting: Milk ChocolateVegan
Rich & Creamy Frosting: Rainbow ChipNo (Contains Milk)
Rich & Creamy Frosting: VanillaVegan
Whipped Frosting: Butter CreamVegan
Whipped Frosting: ChocolateNo (Contains Milk)
Whipped Frosting: Cream CheeseVegan
Whipped Frosting: Fluffy WhiteVegan
Whipped Frosting: Milk ChocolateNo (Contains Milk)
Whipped Frosting: Strawberry MistVegan
Whipped Frosting: VanillaVegan
Whipped Frosting: Whipped CreamVegan
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate FrostingVegan
Is Betty Crocker Frosting Vegan? (Source)

Is Duncan Hines Frosting Vegan?

About 71% of Duncan Hines frosting products are vegan. Specifically, 10 are vegan and 4 are not. The four non-vegan flavors are Creamy Chocolate Buttercream, Creamy Strawberries ‘N Cream, Creamy Milk Chocolate, and Cream Cheese Whipped Frosting.

Here is the full breakdown of which Duncan Hines frosting products are vegan:

FrostingIs it Vegan?
Creamy Dark Chocolate FudgeVegan
Creamy Cream CheeseVegan
Creamy VanillaVegan
Creamy Lemon SupremeVegan
Creamy Chocolate ButtercreamNo (Contains Milk)
Creamy ButtercreamVegan
Creamy Strawberries ‘N CreamNo (Contains Milk)
Creamy ChocolateVegan
Creamy Coconut PecanVegan
Creamy Milk ChocolateNo (Contains Milk)
Whipped Frosting: VanillaVegan
Whipped Frosting: ChocolateVegan
Whipped Frosting: Cream CheeseNo (Contains Milk)
Whipped Frosting: Fluffy WhiteVegan
Is Duncan Hines Frosting Vegan? (Source)

Is Miss Jones Frosting Vegan?

Miss Jones frosting is confirmed vegan. All five flavors are 100% plant-based, containing no dairy, egg, gelatin, or other animal ingredients.

Here are the exact products I was able to check:

FrostingIs It Vegan?
Miss Jones Vanilla FrostingVegan
Miss Jones Chocolate FrostingVegan
Miss Jones Cream Cheese FrostingVegan
Miss Jones Confetti Pop FrostingVegan
Miss Jones Peppermint FrostingVegan
Is Miss Jones Frosting Vegan?

Is Pillsbury Frosting Vegan?

About 58% of Pillsbury frosting products are vegan. Specifically, 28 are vegan and 20 are not vegan due to containing confectioner’s glaze. All flavors of Pillsbury Creamy Supreme, Fluffy Frost, and sugar-free frosting are vegan. Some flavors of Funfetti are vegan, but most are not.

Pillsbury has a ton of frosting products—more than any other brand I checked—so I’ve split them into separate tables by product line.

Here is the breakdown for Pillsbury Creamy Supreme Frosting:

FrostingIs It Vegan?
Creamy Supreme Buttercream Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Chocolate FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Chocolate Fudge Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Chocolate Hazelnut Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Coconut Pecan Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Cream Cheese Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Dark Chocolate Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Lemon Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Milk Chocolate FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Strawberry Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Vanilla Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme White FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Salted Caramel Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Cinnamon Bun Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Peppermint Flavored FrostingVegan
Is Pillsbury Creamy Supreme Frosting Vegan? (Source)

Here is the breakdown for Pillsbury Funfetti Frosting:

FrostingIs It Vegan?
Funfetti Aqua Blue Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Bold Purple Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Confetti Funfetti Chocolate Fudge Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Confetti Funfetti Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Hot Pink Vanilla Flavored FrostingVegan
Funfetti Neon Yellow Flavored VanillaNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Orange All Star Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Radiant Red Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Vanilla Flavored FrostingVegan
Funfetti Vibrant Green Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Galaxy Space Blue FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Unicorn Vanilla FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Llama Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Mermaid Strawberry Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Vanilla Frosting with OREO Cookie PiecesVegan
Funfetti Halloween Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Holiday Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Spring Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Stars & Stripes Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Valentine’s Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Holiday Red Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Slime FrostingVegan
Funfetti Winter Blue Vanilla Flavored FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Is Funfetti Frosting Vegan? (Source)

Here is the breakdown for Pillsbury Fluffy Frost:

FrostingIs It Vegan?
Fluffy Frost: Funfetti Vanilla Marshmallow Flavored Fluffy FrostingVegan
Fluffy Frost: Vanilla Marshmallow Flavored Fluffy FrostingVegan
Is Pillsbury Fluffy Frost Frosting Vegan? (Source)

Here is the breakdown for Pillsbury Sugar-Free Frosting:

FrostingIs It Vegan?
Creamy Supreme Sugar-Free: Chocolate Fudge Flavored FrostingVegan
Creamy Supreme Sugar-Free: Vanilla Flavored FrostingVegan
Is Pillsbury Sugar-Free Frosting Vegan? (Source)

Here is the breakdown for Pillsbury Filled Pastry Bags:

FrostingIs It Vegan?
Filled Pastry Bag: Chocolate Fudge Flavored FrostingVegan
Filled Pastry Bag: Cream Cheese Flavored FrostingVegan
Filled Pastry Bag: Vanilla Flavored FrostingVegan
Filled Pastry Bag: Halloween Funfetti FrostingVegan
Funfetti Filled Pastry Bag: Holiday FrostingNo (Confectioner’s Glaze)
Funfetti Filled Pastry Bag: Vanilla FrostingVegan
Are Pillsbury Filled Pastry Bags Vegan? (Source)

Is Simple Mills Frosting Vegan?

Simple Mills frosting is confirmed vegan. Both the vanilla and the chocolate flavor are 100% plant-based, containing no dairy, egg, gelatin, or other animal ingredients.

Again, here are the exact products I was able to check:

FrostingIs It Vegan?
Simple MIlls: Vanilla FrostingVegan
Simple MIlls: Chocolate FrostingVegan
Is Simple Mills Frosting Vegan? (Source)

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.

Sharing is caring!