Here’s Every Vegan Option at Costa Coffee (2021)

Costa Coffee is a pretty good place for us vegans. They’ve got around 27 drinks that you can get vegan—with four different kinds of plant-based milk. Plus, now they even have a couple of vegan sandwiches, including vegan cheese! Nice, right? Let’s take a look…

Costa Coffee Vegan Menu

The following vegan menu was compiled with the help of the menu and allergen information on the Costa Coffee website. After the main Costa menu, I’m also including a Costa Express vegan menu and FAQ section.

Restaurant menus change and often vary by location. I recommend double checking any important information with staff at your Costa location!

Vegan Coffee and Drinks

The following Costa drinks can easily be ordered vegan. Just ask for a plant-based milk (coconut, almond, soy, or oat milk). You may want to also just confirm that you want it dairy-free and vegan, so there’s no surprise whipped cream or any dairy extras:

  • Latte
  • Flat White
  • Flat Black
  • Americano
  • Cortado
  • Caramel Cortado
  • Espresso
  • Toffee Spiced Latte
  • Toffee Spiced Iced Latte
  • Caramel Oat Latte+ (Vitamin B12 & Zinc)
  • Vanilla Coconut Latte+ (Vitamin B12 & Zinc)
  • Hazelnut Almond Latte+ (Protein)
  • Chai Latte
  • Iced Latte
  • Cold Brew Coffee Black
  • Iced Americano
  • Coffee Frostino
  • Mango and Passion Fruit Cooler
  • Red Summer Berries Fruit Cooler
  • Strawberry Tea Infusion
  • English Breakfast Tea
  • Decaf Tea
  • Earl Grey Tea
  • Jasmine Tea
  • Pure Green Tea
  • Mint Infusion
  • Fruit Infusion

if you have more questions about the drink options, I answered some of the most popular questions below about the hot chocolate, mocha, and more.

Vegan Sandwiches

These were probably the most interesting things on the Costa Coffee menu as a vegan. They actually have a vegan grilled cheese sandwich—with vegan ham! Plus a “vegan chicken” panini! Not bad.

  • Vegan Smoky Ham & Cheeze Toastie
  • Vegan BBQ Chick’n Panini

Muffins and Cake

They also have these awesome vegan cake and sweets options:

  • BOSH! Ultimate Chocolate Slice
  • Lotus Biscoff Cheezecake
  • Jamaican Ginger Loaf Cake
  • Rocky Road

Snacks

And if you just want a snack, they got you covered, too—with gluten-free vegan options, no less:

  • Hopping Bunny Gingerbread
  • Apple Crumble Flapjack (Gluten-Free)
  • Sweet Chilli Rice Snacks (Gluten-Free)
  • Fruity Flapjack (Gluten-Free)
  • Pick ‘n’ Mix
  • Dark Chocolate 70% Cocoa

Breads and Breakfast

Lastly, they’ve got some simple breads and breakfast pastries here.

  • White Toast
  • Brown Seeded Toast
  • Fruited Teacake

See below for common questions about the croissants, cookies, and more.

Costa Express Vegan Menu

Costa Express has a much smaller menu than full Costa locations. But I wanted to include their vegan options here, as they include some drinks not found at normal Costa locations.

Again, you’ll want to select plant-based milks for these (where applicable):

  • Espresso
  • Double Espresso
  • Espresso Lungo
  • Ristretto
  • Black Cafe Crema
  • Black Americano
  • Mandarin & Chai Cordial
  • Strawberry & Lime Cordial
  • Iced Americano

You’ve also got these vegan options for flavoring at Costa Express:

  • Sugar Sachets
  • Sugar Flavouring
  • Sachet of Sweetener
  • Any of the flavour shots except for caramel

But What About…

Now let’s answer some of the most common questions about eating vegan at Costa Coffee…

Are Costa Hot Chocolates Vegan?

Costa Hot Chocolates are not vegan, as they contain dairy. However, their Chai Latte is vegan if you get it with plant-based bilk (coconut, almond, soy, or oat milk).

Is Costa Mocha Vegan?

Costa Mocha is not vegan and cannot be ordered vegan. In fact, Costa’s normal Mocha, their Mocha Cortado, and their Iced Mocha all contain dairy.

Are Costa Fruit Coolers Vegan?

Three Costa Fruit Coolers flavors are vegan: Mango and Passion, Red Summer Berries, and Strawberry Tea Infusion.

Is Costa Ruby Hot Chocolate Vegan?

Costa Ruby Hot Chocolate is not vegan, and apparently it cannot be ordered vegan. Probably the closest thing you can get vegan is the Chai Latte with plant-based milk.

Is Costa Caramel Syrup Vegan?

Costa has two vegan drinks that are caramel flavored: The Caramel Cortado and the Caramel Oat Latte+ (Vitamin B12 & Zinc). That said, the caramel “flavour shot” at Costa Express is not vegan.

Are Costa Frostinos Vegan?

Most Costa Frostinos are not vegan. The only vegan Frostino is the Coffee Frostino when ordered with plant-based milk.

Are Costa Chai Lattes Vegan?

Costa Chai Lattes are vegan when you get them with coconut, almond, soy, or oat milk.

Does Costa Coffee Have Vegan Cookies?

Costa Coffee does not appear to have any vegan cookies. The only cookie on their menu is the All Butter Belgian Chocolate Cookie, which contains milk.

Are Costa Coffee Croissants Vegan?

Costa Coffee does not appear to have any vegan croissants. Their All Butter Croissant and their Almond Croissant both contain milk and eggs.

Is Costa Rocky Road Vegan?

Costa Rocky Road is confirmed vegan. That is pretty remarkable because these bars actually contain vegan marshmallow.

Here are the ingredients for the “marshmallow” contained in Costa Rocky Road: “Glucose-fructose Syrup, Sugar, Water, Dextrose, Gelling agent: (Carrageenan), Maize Starch, Hydrolysed Rice Protein, Colour: (Beetroot Red, E171).” No gelatin!

Two More Recommendations for Your Vegan Journey

1. This is the best vegan multivitamin I’ve found in 13 years of being vegan. It has vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3—and nothing else. Translation: It only has the nutrients vegans are actually low in. Read my full review of Future Kind’s multivitamin here (with 10% discount).

2. This is the best vegan starter kit I know of. It’s a bundle of 9 beautiful e-books that help you transition to a healthy plant-based diet—the right way. The advice is spot-on, and it has print-outs and checklists that make it easy to implement. Read my full review of Nutriciously here.